Pesto Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2014
I made this pesto last August with a big pile of basil leaves from my garden, and everyone went absolutely crazy for it! It was far easier than I expected. I only have a mini food processor so I made it in little batches and it turned out perfectly. This summer, I will try to make it every couple weeks so I have enough to freeze a batch for winter. So angry at myself for not doing that last summer. I skipped the parsley but I did add lemon juice as a few reviewers recommended. The lemon juice did not change the taste noticeably and it definitely helped to preserve the bright green color. My Italian mother in law was actually impressed. That's rare, so it's a definite winner in my book!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Franklin, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2014
I have a new appreciation for Pesto now. I made extra and froze in individual bags for ease in meal preparation during the week...excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
Good results and simple recipe. Not much else I can say about a pesto recipe. If you serve it with pasta, cook to al dente, rinse with cold water (to stop cooking and keep the texture from becoming mushy), and drain. Next time I'll try toasting the pine nuts like others suggest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
So yummy! I did add more olive oil so it could coat my pasta a bit better
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
Boyfriend loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2014
My sister and I made this recipe in LARGE quantities to use the remaining basil from her garden right before an autumn "frost" was forecast. The house smelled heavenly and the pasta tasted exactly the same. We 'froze' the pesto in zipper freezer bags so that they would lay flat and store well for the winter, if they last. Super, delicious recipe. We chose not to use any nuts at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2014
Perfection!!! Amazing easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
Great recipe! I put it on sandwiches and pasta and it's perfect. I always roast the pine nuts prior to blending them in the food processor. Also reserve some nuts to put on top for a nice garnish. I have used pecans to make this before too, I roast them too and blend them just like the pine nuts, but I still use pine nuts to garnish. So if you're in a pinch and have some left over pecans from Thanksgiving, whip 'em in there and it's fine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Claire Wood

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: White Hall, Maryland, USA
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
I made this as directed, omitting the optional parsley & toasting the pine nuts as others suggested. I scaled the recipe down to one cup of packed basil leaves to make just enough for the recipe I was using it in. I It was excellent! I will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Brunswick, Maine, USA
Photo by Garden lover
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
I've been doing this for years!! Soooo easy and you can revise it to accommodate any combination of spices you enjoy . I then freeze the paste or mixture in sandwich size plastic containers. After a day or so, remove from freezer, pop it out( usually very easily) but if stubborn , run a little hot water over bottom. Then place in frizzer bag, remove as much air as possible, label for your own reference and when your ready to use , remove, break off a chunk toss right into your dish or defrost in micro on low for. A nice bread spread or pesto for pasta!! Enjoy!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Moosic, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 334) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Potato Pesto and Feta Pizza

See how to make a pesto and potato pizza.

Pesto Polenta Lasagna

See how to make delicious pesto and polenta lasagna.

Barilla® Spaghetti with Mixed Nut Pesto

A simple mixed nut pesto pairs perfectly with nutty whole grain spaghetti.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States