Pesto Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2015
Perfect Pesto recipe!! I would add some salt if serving it to others, but it was perfect for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2015
Delicious! If pine nuts aren't readily available, walnuts, pecans or even almonds are great substitutes. Doesn't hurt to add a bit of lemon juice and a pinch of salt, too. We always plant basil so we can have a plentiful supply for pesto. We have successfully been able to preserve it by pressing plastic wrap on the surface of the pesto in a glass storage jar, then sealing with a plastic top and keeping in the refrigerator, or by spraying ice cube trays with olive oil, filling with pesto and freezing. Once solidly frozen, pop out and store in a freezer bag in the freezer, taking out only as many 'pesto cubes' as we need for our recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2015
Excellent! I've added a little fresh oregano, at times and usually a pinch of salt. Also, I've substituted toasted or raw sunflower seeds, but pine nuts are better; just more expensive. I've mixed a bit of pesto into a green salad for a different dressing, and put it on a Triscuit, with a sliver of Parmesan and basil leaf &/or black olive, as an hors d'oeuvres. This recipe is classic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Washington, New York, USA
Living In: Altamonte Springs, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2015
First time making pesto!!! My neighbor grew a lot of basil and told me to take as much as I want. Yummm!!!! I just added a little sea salt to it. I froze it in an ice cube tray for future use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2015
What an easy and delicious pesto recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2015
OMG! I wish I could award this 10 stars! I made it exactly as directed and used the full amount of parsley. As suggested by other reviewers, I toasted the pine nuts and added a smidge of salt. This recipe is amazingly fast to pull together and a GREAT way to use up an herb garden's summer bounty. This will become a new staple in my house. THANK YOU!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2015
Definitely add the pinch of salt and toast the pine nuts. Freeze leftovers in ice cube trays for later use. For a great quick dinner - put some heavy cream in a sauce pan and bring to a boil, add 1 or 2 cubes of the frozen pesto and serve over pasta or chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2015
I made this last night for dinner using some basil that I picked from my moms garden. We really liked it and I would have given it 5 stars, except that a few changes (for us) needed made, so as-is it was a 4 star recipe for me. I followed the amounts exactly, and listened to some other reviewers suggestions. I added the juice of half a lemon, to keep it from browning, I cut the garlic amount in half (and I'm glad I did), left out the parsley, as I wanted this to be authentic and simple, added a pinch of salt, and toasted the pine nuts. I also made the pesto and let it rest while I prepped the other parts of the meal, which I think helped meld the flavors. Make sure to use quality parm and OO, in my opinion it makes all the difference in a good pesto. :) I served the pesto over linguine, with an Italian stuffed chicken breast, and a salad. I will definitely be making this again and might try freezing it since my parents always end up with an abundance of basil from their garden. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ShannyBanany

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2015
I chose this recipe because the ingredients are nearly the same as those of a traditional recipe that came from Italy. I prefer this one because it is looser making it easier to use. This is a great foundation for future pesto venture! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mike Harvey, daPITA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Battle Creek, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2015
I subbed walnuts for pine nuts. I also added some kosher salt and red pepper flakes. I, too, freeze it in ice cube trays to pop in pasta dishes later!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 402) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Potato Pesto and Feta Pizza

See how to make a pesto and potato pizza.

Pesto Polenta Lasagna

See how to make delicious pesto and polenta lasagna.

Pesto Sauce

A classic pesto sauce with basil, walnuts, garlic, and Parmesan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States