Pesto with Arugula Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2012
Yum yum yum! I grow a little basil, and make and freeze a couple batches of pesto every year, but knew I would need to stretch the harvest this year. This fit the bill perfectly. And nondairy is something I need to work more of into my diet so bonus points there too. Don't let the unorthodox seasonings throw you. They are very subtle and just right. I'm going to try a little on some grilled salmon tonight and then tomorrow spread it (a lot of it!) on a goat cheese and tomato sandwich on ciabata tomorrow for lunch. I made the recipe exactly as is. I might cut back a wee bit on the garlic next time. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Laramie, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2012
In defense of the recipe, I just used what I had on hand, so I'm sure it would have yielded a different taste had I had everything. ;) I had a ton of arugula that needed using, which is how I found this recipe. I did not have any olives or pine nuts...next time I will be sure to get some. And I will probably add more garlic too! I had some fresh watercress that needed using, so I added that too since I didn't have the amount of basil that it called for. Even with all these substitutions and changes, it was still very yummy! I will come back and review it again once I make it as directed. :) The pesto smells amazing and tastes okay. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Living In: Appomattox, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
I made this for as a dressing for my pasta salad and it added a great layer of taste. I changed it up a tad, I also used fresh spinach leaves and instead of pine nuts, used sunflower seeds and omitted the olives. Made my pasta salad a big hit at the potluck lunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RaceDiva

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rydal, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2012
2 works: Absolutely delicious. Much more complex tasting than regular pesto.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rdsxlolo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eastchester, New York, USA
Living In: Altamonte Springs, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
Here's an idea for this recipe- try it as a dressing on spaghetti squash- it's really good! I put in a little less than 1/2 a cup of olive oil instead of 3/4. tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
Spicy and fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dressagegrrrl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
I served this with linguini and it was delicious. I didn't have the black olives, but I followed the rest of the recipe as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jesusitadelnorte

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Loveland, Colorado, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
This is really, really good. I left out the black olives and used pecans instead of pine nuts (it's what I had), also used extra garlic. It does have a bite to it. I made a pesto pasta salad with shrimp and asparagus, adding cheese to the pasta instead of the sauce. Tonight is pesto pizza. If there's any left (it makes quite a bit) I will freeze it for later use. Yummmm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by autumny

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Beaumont, California, USA
Living In: Banning, California, USA
Reviewed: May 22, 2011
Very good recipe without changing anything... i did end up adding asiago, but still very good without it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
I just finished making this. Incredible. I haven't even added the salt or pepper yet, and it tastes great. I will be adding this pesto to pasta tomorrow. And after that, I'm going to surprise my husband with a white pesto pizza. This has so many uses. Thank you so much for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Arugula Pesto

See how to make pesto with peppery, full-flavored arugula instead of basil.

Potato Pesto and Feta Pizza

See how to make a pesto and potato pizza.

Make and Store Pesto

See a time-saving trick to have delicious homemade pesto on hand any time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States