Pesto Turkey Burgers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2008
Wow! These were the BEST turkey burgers I've ever had. To be honest, I was iffy about using a recipe that was new and didn't have a picture but I'm glad I did. I already had all of the ingedients in bulk (and thanks to Costco, it's actually fairly inexpensive for ingredients like Pesto and Feta cheese). I don't have an outdoor grill, but I baked them at about 400 for 10 minutes and then broiled them until they were browned (about 8 minutes). I toasted the buns and topped it with a sauce that I make which is equal parts mayo and dijon mustard mixed with about a teaspoon of fresh garlic and a dash of crushed red pepper. These are the best burgers I've ever had. Thank you SO much for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
116 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2007
This recipe deserves 5 stars prepared as directed, but I made some changes when I cooked it for friends. This is my best reviewed food item. I replace a little more than half the bread crumbs with Italian bread crumbs. I use a little less feta. I don't add the extra salt while cooking. And the two things I force on anyone eating this are: 1) Must use english muffins for bread 2) Must top with chopped dried cranberries. This is easily my favorite turkey burger, and some of my friends prefer this recipe to beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2008
These burgers were great with some adjustments. First I didn't use the feta. I know the recipe said Mediterranean-Style burger. I make Mediterranean burgers. They are made with feta cheese, olives, and tzatziki sauce. These are Pesto burgers. After they were done, I put on Provolone cheese and smeared pesto on a toasted bun. Garnished with boston lettuce and tomatoes. Wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2007
I use ground turkey all the time as it is healthier (and cheaper) than ground beef. I am always looking for something different, and I was excited to try this recipe. I buy turkey in 1 lb packages, so that's how much I used. Also, I was out of gas for my grill so I had to cook them on the stove top. I didn't have any problems cooking them. However, the end result was a little disappointing. I thought there was too much pesto. I will only use 1 tbsp next time. I really like this flavor, but it was overwhelming. My husband thought they were too salty, so I will also cut back on the seasoned salt next time as well. I didn't add the additional on top, so I will probably only use t tsp total. I also wanted more cheese, so next time I will probably add 3/4 cup instead of 1/2 cup. With those modifications I think they will be a lot better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ashley

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Owensboro, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2007
i loved these! i thought they were a little too salty. next time i am going use less season salt
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
Yum! I read all of the previous reviews and came up with my on little version of these burgers, and they were quite tasty. I mixed 1 T of pesto, a few shakes of garlic powder and about 3 T of diced red onion to the turkey. It made four burgers that I broiled about six minutes on each side. I ate this turkey burger on a whole wheat bun with just a tiny bit of mayonnaise, mustard and ketchup in addition to a large leaf of Romaine lettuce, a slice of red onion and a few small banana peppers. Next time I'll be sure to have some slices of cheddar cheese on hand to melt on top. I served the burgers with a baked bean dish. So tasty! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Depoe Bay, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
My husband and I thought these were very good, a nice change from regular beef burgers. Moist and flavorful. I used some of the pesto I had and added it to some mayo with a little garlic. It made a nice spread and gave the burgers an extra zip. The recipe as written deserves five stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Canonsburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2009
I really enjoyed these and will def. make again. Mine did fall apart a bit so next time I will add an egg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2008
I love these! I always use this to impress even the most pickiest eaters. I've put sun-dried tomatoes in them too and that was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shana
Home Town: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2007
Very good burger. With the turkey it is lighter than beef and the pesto adds a great little extra flavor. We're definately going to have these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HisBride&Chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Redwood City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 214) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Turkey Burgers

See a great trick for making truly delicious low-fat turkey burgers.

Actually Delicious Turkey Burgers

These turkey burgers are so tasty, you may just give up beef for good.

Turkify™ Mealtime with Delicious Turkey Burgers

Turkify™ mealtime with turkey burger patties and all your favorite toppings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States