Pesto Tuna Salad with Sun-Dried Tomatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
Great alternative to the traditional method. I took it a few steps further and added chopped artichoke hearts and kalamata olives since I had them on-hand. I also sprinkled some red chili flakes for a little zip and used lowfat plain yogurt instead of mayo (figured I dumped enough oil in it!). Quite nice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2009
I am a big fan of both pesto and sun dried tomato so this recipe seemed like a sure thing but the end result was terrible. Way too much pesto. I threw out the sandwich after the first bite. Trust me when i recommend cutting way back on the pesto unless you want a pesto sandwich
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Dover, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2009
I omitted the sun dried tomatoes, and I used chicken thigh meat, for a super tender meat. I added pine nuts and onions! I only use the bread sometimes, when I want to be more carb conscience I just eat it by itself. Great base recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ildefonso
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2009
I am a big fan of tuna, in fact I love it!! I also love pesto. Having said that, this is such a fun variation on tuna salad!! I love the flavor combination. I used homemade pesto that I thawed from the freezer and a 6.4 oz. pouch rather than a can of tuna. Other than that I didn't change anything. The more pesto the bettter in my opinion!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ildefonso

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albany, New York, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2009
For picky eaters in my family I used less than half of the pesto/sundried tomatoe combination. I personally think this recipe was great! Picky eaters were no so impressed. I used fresh bakery bread lightly toasted with melted Muenster cheese!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2009
I tried mixing this with rotini, as other reviewers had suggested, and was disappointed. It seemed bland to me, and I just didn't think that pesto and tuna went all that well together. The pesto I used, however, was a blend of spinach, basil, and parsley. Perhaps a strictly basil based pesto would have been better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nicholasville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2009
Even my pickiest eater enjoyed these. I did use feta cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kestep

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2009
Very good. I needed to get rid of some homemade pesto and was looking for something different. My pesto was really solid, so I ended up using a bit more mayo than called for to moisten it up and b/c of that ended up using an extra can of tuna (10oz. total). I had to hold myself back from eating it plain, so I can have it on a sandwich tomorrow!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2009
I used ranch dressing instead of mayo and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MomTo6
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2009
I am rating this 4 stars because it's way too much pesto as most other reviewers have noted. I used half the pesto and served this on toasted ciabatta. Oh my goodness, this is a gourmet sandwich! Delicious!! Even my husband (who *hates* tuna) finished his sandwich and went back for seconds. I recommend the "Pesto Sauce" recipe from this site to use in this yummy sandwich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MomTo6

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA

Displaying results 81-90 (of 201) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Barbie's Tuna Salad

Spice up tuna salad with a little curry and Parmesan.

How to Make Tuna Salad

Enjoy a light, healthy lunch with this quick and easy tuna salad.

Mediterranean Tuna Salad

Classic flavors of the Mediterranean combine in this tantalizing tuna salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States