Pesto Torta (Layered Spread) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2007
Excellent Italian spread! Amazing flavor! I made this for a friend's Italian-themed birthday party and made these minor adjustments: I put the drained peppers in a small food chopper and chopped them finely. Then after flattening each slice of cream cheese, I layered first the cream cheese, then pesto, then cream cheese, then peppers, until all were used up, ending with peppers on top. (You will also want to drain the pesto on a paper towel first because otherwise the oil comes out after sitting for a while)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2004
This is a delicious recipe. I have had a slightly more complex version that is also layered with pignoli nuts and sun-dried tomatoes, along with the pesto layers. It is then topped with thinly sliced provolone. It produces a red white and green layer effect like the Italian flag! When you turn the torte out of whatever receptacle you've molded it in (I've had it in a small round cake shape) stick herbs such as fresh minced chives, and basil to the sides (it will stick to the cream cheese). This has been served at our company functions several times...it is very elegant if done right. And it is seriously good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Spongebob7

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Carmel, New York, USA
Living In: Danbury, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2004
This was a wonderful appetizer. After slicing the cream cheese, I just smashed the slices to the correct size w/my hands and that worked better than the plastic wrap. Next time I would also slize the peppers rather than laying them whole on the cream cheese. But this was a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2004
This recipe got raves..I added a few pine nuts and layered the roasted peppers in the torte as well. It was easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2005
Prepared this and numerous other recipes from this site for a 50th wedding anniversary party. Everyone asked who catered the party!!! Very easy to make and can be prepared a cday or two ahead of time, whioch is awsome, I added 2 pieces of provolone cheese to the top then added the peppers, chopped fine, pretty presentation! Thanks for sharing. I have a suggestion: when reviewing or even sending in a recipe please state how far in advance it can be made, or if it can be frozen, when you are having a large party this information is SO HELPFUL!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Perri Pender

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Missouri, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2006
This was very good. I served it at a small gathering and it went over very well. I chopped the peppers to make it easier to serve. I think that sun dried tomatoes (as someone else suggested) would be a great addition. I will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Latrobe, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Bethel Park, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2006
I have made this several times for parties and I NEVER have any left over! People always ask for the recipe and are amazed at how easy it is. I tell them, "If you can stack things, you can make this recipe." I use a 5" diameter springform pan and (as suggested by another reviewer) I slice the cream cheese and form it into a patty shape to fit the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PROZA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Point, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Miami, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2006
This was great!!! And so easy!! I've made it several times and have gotten many compliments. In fact, just the other night, an Italian friend raved and raved about it and wanted the recipe! I did try the layer thing and I wasn't very successful so I've just been using one layer. It's work just fine. Also I agree "Thanks for the tip about cutting up the peppers"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2006
I made this for a dinner party and my friends were so impressed. It looks like it came from a gourmet food market and tastes even better than it looked. This was the first thing to go at the table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeanie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mclean, Virginia, USA
Living In: Sterling, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2007
Super easy and quick! I took this to a lunch at work and it ended up being the most talked about item there. I also diced the peppers to make them easier to eat. Will absolutely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Taco Dip I

This simple dip features all your favorite taco toppings in delicious dip form.

PHILLY Buffalo Chicken Dip

See how to put a quick-and-easy twist on buffalo wings.

Fiesta Dip

See how to make a spicy no-bake dip with a delicious secret ingredient.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States