Pesto Torta (Layered Spread) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2004
This is a delicious recipe. I have had a slightly more complex version that is also layered with pignoli nuts and sun-dried tomatoes, along with the pesto layers. It is then topped with thinly sliced provolone. It produces a red white and green layer effect like the Italian flag! When you turn the torte out of whatever receptacle you've molded it in (I've had it in a small round cake shape) stick herbs such as fresh minced chives, and basil to the sides (it will stick to the cream cheese). This has been served at our company functions several times...it is very elegant if done right. And it is seriously good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Spongebob7

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Carmel, New York, USA
Living In: Danbury, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2008
To make it even simpler, I used one block of cream cheese, cutting a zig zag pattern through the middle, reversed the two pieces to create a Christmas tree. Topped with pesto, and smaller pieces of the red peppers in rows looking like lights. Then a friend broke a Triscuit cracker in half to make the trunk. Looked great and tasted even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2005
Prepared this and numerous other recipes from this site for a 50th wedding anniversary party. Everyone asked who catered the party!!! Very easy to make and can be prepared a cday or two ahead of time, whioch is awsome, I added 2 pieces of provolone cheese to the top then added the peppers, chopped fine, pretty presentation! Thanks for sharing. I have a suggestion: when reviewing or even sending in a recipe please state how far in advance it can be made, or if it can be frozen, when you are having a large party this information is SO HELPFUL!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Perri Pender

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Missouri, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2007
Excellent Italian spread! Amazing flavor! I made this for a friend's Italian-themed birthday party and made these minor adjustments: I put the drained peppers in a small food chopper and chopped them finely. Then after flattening each slice of cream cheese, I layered first the cream cheese, then pesto, then cream cheese, then peppers, until all were used up, ending with peppers on top. (You will also want to drain the pesto on a paper towel first because otherwise the oil comes out after sitting for a while)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2008
I made this as a app. for an Itilian dinner at my home. I doubled the cream cheese and added extra layers of the chopped drained red peppers. You must drain your pesto or you will end up with an oily mess!!! I used a bread loaf pan as my mold, it came out perfect. I served 20 people and had plenty, plus several request for the recipe. Thanks for a great, easy idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2008
Good flavor but very oily so when I took it out of the form it just fell into a big lump. I may try it again but I will have to think of a different way
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2008
Five stars for an easy, impressive appetizer. I halved the recipe for a group of 6 - I did have other appetizers also, and it was plenty. I cut my cream cheese in half and shaped each square into a flat round shape. Chopped & dried my red peppers on a paper towel. On the finished product, I pressed chopped green onions around the sides. Lovely. Next time I may try seasoning the cream cheese with some garlic? Served with water crackers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer C.
Home Town: Plymouth, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Minnetonka, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2004
This was a wonderful appetizer. After slicing the cream cheese, I just smashed the slices to the correct size w/my hands and that worked better than the plastic wrap. Next time I would also slize the peppers rather than laying them whole on the cream cheese. But this was a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2009
I must say....this was a HUGE hit at bunco tonight. I used a round bowl rather than loaf pan as my mold and included the roasted bell peppers in the layering process. The presentation was beautiful and the taste was exceptional.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly Crabtree

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wynne, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2004
This recipe got raves..I added a few pine nuts and layered the roasted peppers in the torte as well. It was easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anita Bashline

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Taco Dip I

This simple dip features all your favorite taco toppings in delicious dip form.

Fiesta Dip

See how to make a spicy no-bake dip with a delicious secret ingredient.

Crab Dip

See how to make a hot and creamy crab dip served in a bread bowl.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States