Pesto Squash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2011
Even better if you quick saute the zucchini in a little olive oil/butter over medium high heat until they get a little caramelization, but still firm. Then toss with pesto (preferably homemade) and a little parmesan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gainesville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
As if this wasn't quick and easy enough, microwaving made it even more so. I used both zucchini and yellow squash and homemade pesto I had frozen during the summer. The homemade stuff can't be beat! When I mixed it in with the zucchini it looked like pesto overload but it turned out to be just the right amount. Something so delicious in under 5 minutes - unbelievable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2007
Is it OK to give something so simple 5 stars? I had a leftover zucchini and just wanted a new idea for seasoning it simply. I peeled and cut the zucchini into chunks, then put it in my steamer for about 10 minutes - still had some nice firmness. The pesto and fresh grated parmesan gave it a nice flavor. Will definitely be remembering this idea for the future. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Woodbine, Maryland, USA
Living In: Manning, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sharyn
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2010
Even as I was mixing this, I thought "Zucchini, pesto, really? Is this gonna be any good?" Well, it is. The other raters are right. Zucchini and pesto definitely go together, and whoever figured that out is a genius. The only thing I did differently was increase the parmesan to about 1/4 cup. Four tablespoons of cheese just won't cut it for this girl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sharyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: West Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2010
This was great, I added some extra olive oil at the end and served it over spinach linguine as a main dish... Everyone loved it, and it was filling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shadelta

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2006
Really yummy side dish! I never would have though to put pesto with zuccini, but it goes really well. The nice bit of parm. goes really well too :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chelsey Wolnowski

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Queen Charlotte, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2006
This was quite good. I kept the calories down by making a quick pesto of steamed broccoli, fresh basil, a little low fat tofu, a tablespoon of pine nuts and a dash of olive oil and seasonings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2013
i have made this so many times i have lost count! can't believe i had missed writing the review. just be sure to drain you squash well......its a 10 in the world of 5's !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PATTIMAC2000

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wilmington, Delaware, USA
Living In: Vista, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by RosiesKitchen
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2011
This was a very fast side dish to make. I added a dash of garlic and pepper to kick it up a notch. This is a great recipe for that leftover garden squash. Easy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RosiesKitchen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sylmar, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2010
Serviceable, but pesto deserves better. Use it on the Spinach and Feta Pita Bake instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brooklynsurecooks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Topsfield, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Yellow Squash Casserole

See how to make a hearty squash casserole for a side or main.

Butternut Squash and Mascarpone Gnocchi

See how to make homemade gnocchi with butternut squash and mascarpone.

Fried Stuffed Squash Blossoms

See how to make glorious fried squash blossoms.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States