Pesto Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2011
This was very good pesto, but I'm pretty sure I used less oil, I'm guessing 2/3 cup? I'm always trying to shave off a calorie or two, and I can say I really didn't miss that extra 1/3 cup or so of oil. Only other change was to toast the walnuts just slightly before adding them. I definitely prefer walnuts over pine nuts in pesto! Next time I will follow others' suggestions and add a little lemon juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
I made this over penne with sausage, but i changed it up a bit. Adding 1/2 a cup of Pecorino, 4 packed cups of basil, and barely over 1/2 a cup of oil. I agree with others, some lemon juice would be a good addition, to keep the basil green and add a brighter flavor. Overall, we liked it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2011
really a great and easy recipe - made up some pasta with grilled chicken & mushrooms, cold glass of wine - was a perfect dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SOJANA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oregon, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2011
The taste is off, I think there is too much nuts (a quarter to half a cup would probably be enough). I used only 1/2 cup of olive oil and it was plenty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
it is very good, but i agree with others, not as much walnuts and more basil, cheese and garlic. I just added to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2011
add some lemon juice and its perfect :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2011
I used the greens from the holly grove market, thai basil and some Asian cooking green from Mary Queen of Vietnam. I used sunflower seeds from an airport vendor and the jared garlic. Excellent flavor and the proportion is perfect. I read somewhere about puting some in an ice cube tray and freezing for later use. We'll see if that works. It made a little over 2 cups. You may want to half the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Metairie, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2011
I think there was way too much oil in this recipe and I also think it was bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2011
It was suggested to me by a friend to substitute Spinach for the basil and to give the sauce a kick add a fresh jalapeño to the blender. The spinach tastes great and as Mom, I feel good my kids are getting their spinach! Great versatile recipe - it has been a family favorite in my home for years!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2011
It was great. Walnuts or pinenuts, I just use what I have on hand. I am not a strict measurer, but generally I use a little less olive oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 416) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Pesto Sauce

A classic pesto sauce with basil, walnuts, garlic, and Parmesan.

Easy Pizza Sauce I

See how to make a simple no-cook pizza sauce.

Exquisite Pizza Sauce

Discover the secret to sensational pizza sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States