Pesto Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2014
I only gave this recipe a 3 because I had to adjust it. A recipe is only as good as the quality of the ingredients. ie. Olive Oil needs to REALLY be TOP QUALITY. Personally, I use coarse Hawaiian Sea Salt in Pesto or salad dressings. I only used two cloves of glaric and added the EVOO by sight. I add fresh lemon or lime use to retain color. I think it would be nice if the recipes included what brand of olive oil was used to ensure similar or like results. However, I also realize this might not be legally possible due to copy right this and that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
Very easy, very tasty! Used the fresh pesto with cream over linguini ...was delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth
Living In: Berlin, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2014
I just use this recipe for a rough idea on ingredients; delicious with lots of garlic and roasted roasted pine nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belfast, Maine, USA
Living In: Brooks, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
I made this two weeks ago. I had never had pesto before and made this because of an impulse buy of pine nuts at a local farmers market and then doing an ingredient search trying to find a recipe to use them. I still didn't use it right away; I think the color just wasn't appealing. I finally cooked angel hair pasta and added this some of this pesto to it. Amazing. Loved it. I have nothing to compare this to but am making it again today. I cut back a little on the olive oil and toasted the pine nuts at the recommendation of other reviewers. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny C.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clearwater, Florida, USA
Living In: Pinellas Park, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
It was very good. I made a smaller portion and it came out a bit thick... but that was my fault. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2013
This is the best Pesto ever! I do the same exact recipe at home. Yes, Walnuts are cheaper but I would recommend if you are going to use them instead of the trasitional pine nuts, to roast them lightly in a non stick fry pan until they releases oils and become fragrant. I use roasted pine nuts since I do not like the skins from the walnuts in my pesto. I also use Pecorino Romano cheese if I have it, because I love the more potent cheese flavor. Yummo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2013
I followed the recipe as written to a T. I think there is way to many walnuts that is all I tasted. I would not even give it to my family
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2013
Great alternative to using pine nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2013
My son and I loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2013
Fantastic! Very flavourful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maria Schembri

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

Displaying results 11-20 (of 416) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pesto Sauce

A classic pesto sauce with basil, walnuts, garlic, and Parmesan.

Easy Pizza Sauce I

See how to make a simple no-cook pizza sauce.

Exquisite Pizza Sauce

Discover the secret to sensational pizza sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States