Pesto Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2001
The proportion of ingredients were perfect! And its a relief to know that the more affordable walnut can be used instead of the rather expensive pine nut without casualty. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
422 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2002
really great basic recipe. i used pine nuts instead of walnuts for more authentic taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cdagirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2002
For a bit of a zest, use pecorino romano (or a mix) of the two cheeses. Buon appetito!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2003
Couldn't be easier & definitely cheaper using walnuts. I had some green onion I needed to use up, so I added that, as well as increasing the amount of garlic. Very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2003
This was okay. I wasn't thrilled, but I'll try again. Replaced walnuts with pine nuts. It was way to garlicy and I doubled the basil (maybe it's supposed to be three tightly packed cups of fresh basil) and it was passable. I'll try it again with less garlic and a lighter olive oil- I used dark and it was overpowering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2003
I think this recipe is great! I've made it a few times. With pine nuts so expensive, walnuts make a great substitute & is a barely noticeable difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jazzy Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: East Brunswick, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2003
Very good. I think I didn't add enough basil and for some reason it just came out to oily. Will try again. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2003
I have a basil plant and found this receipe so I could use some of my home grown basil. I'm not fond of walnuts so I used pine nuts instead. The flavor was incrediable. At first the basil was a little strong (I used to much) but after the pesto sat in the frig for a week my pasta dish turned out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mikki

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2003
This is wonderful...but have you tried walnuts? It's great too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2003
Extremely easy to make and pretty good, although I found it to be a bit too oily. I think 3/4 cup of olive oil would probably work just as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BABSKITCHEN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 416) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pesto Sauce

A classic pesto sauce with basil, walnuts, garlic, and Parmesan.

Easy Pizza Sauce I

See how to make a simple no-cook pizza sauce.

Exquisite Pizza Sauce

Discover the secret to sensational pizza sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States