Pesto Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2011
This was very good pesto, but I'm pretty sure I used less oil, I'm guessing 2/3 cup? I'm always trying to shave off a calorie or two, and I can say I really didn't miss that extra 1/3 cup or so of oil. Only other change was to toast the walnuts just slightly before adding them. I definitely prefer walnuts over pine nuts in pesto! Next time I will follow others' suggestions and add a little lemon juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
I made this over penne with sausage, but i changed it up a bit. Adding 1/2 a cup of Pecorino, 4 packed cups of basil, and barely over 1/2 a cup of oil. I agree with others, some lemon juice would be a good addition, to keep the basil green and add a brighter flavor. Overall, we liked it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2011
really a great and easy recipe - made up some pasta with grilled chicken & mushrooms, cold glass of wine - was a perfect dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SOJANA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oregon, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2011
The taste is off, I think there is too much nuts (a quarter to half a cup would probably be enough). I used only 1/2 cup of olive oil and it was plenty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
it is very good, but i agree with others, not as much walnuts and more basil, cheese and garlic. I just added to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2011
add some lemon juice and its perfect :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2011
I used the greens from the holly grove market, thai basil and some Asian cooking green from Mary Queen of Vietnam. I used sunflower seeds from an airport vendor and the jared garlic. Excellent flavor and the proportion is perfect. I read somewhere about puting some in an ice cube tray and freezing for later use. We'll see if that works. It made a little over 2 cups. You may want to half the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Metairie, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2011
I think there was way too much oil in this recipe and I also think it was bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2011
It was suggested to me by a friend to substitute Spinach for the basil and to give the sauce a kick add a fresh jalapeño to the blender. The spinach tastes great and as Mom, I feel good my kids are getting their spinach! Great versatile recipe - it has been a family favorite in my home for years!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2011
It was great. Walnuts or pinenuts, I just use what I have on hand. I am not a strict measurer, but generally I use a little less olive oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 416) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pesto Sauce

A classic pesto sauce with basil, walnuts, garlic, and Parmesan.

Easy Pizza Sauce I

See how to make a simple no-cook pizza sauce.

Exquisite Pizza Sauce

Discover the secret to sensational pizza sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States