Pesto Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2012
perfecto! eyeballed the olive oil to the consistency i liked, and added extra parmesean cheese :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Whats that Burning smell?

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2012
Great pesto! I used 1 c. walnuts and dry roasted them in a frying pan instead. I used 3/4 c. parmesan, 2 cloves garlic (like some other reviews said), and a little less olive oil. I like using walnuts as a cheaper option than pine nuts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2012
My first try at pesto and all I can say is... mmm...mmmm. I did use pine nuts instead, only because I already had some. Simply delectable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2012
I had lot's of basil growing in my garden, so I made this recipe today. I left out the cheese and put some in ice cube trays to freeze. I will put them in bags later and have a supply for a while. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by josie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2012
Very good! My wife does not like walnuts,..so I started using cashews and almonds ( her favorites) and we really love it that way too! The best! We freeze it in freezer bags, "flattened" and it is a joy in the winter when there is no fresh basil! Also it is wonderful added to ranch dressing, and cream sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2012
I LOVE pesto, I make it all the time! I usually use toasted pecans instead of walnuts and you really don't need that much olive oil, but basically, this is a GREAT recipe! Make your own adjustments and enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2012
Good recipe and more authentic than many reviewers here know. pignoli are used in some recipes, BUT walnuts are also traditional with Italian Grandmas. I use much more garlic than in this recipe and more Parmesan, about double. Also good and also traditional are sunflower seeds, hulled of course. The Italian cook made do with whatever ingredients came to hand, which is why I love peasant cuisine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phoghat

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Flushing, New York, USA
Living In: Zacatecas, Zacatecas, Mexico
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2012
I did reduce the garlic to two cloves and used canola oil (out of olive oil), but other than that it was very good. My kids even liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2012
never saw walnuts used should be slightly roasted pine nuts and less oil and more cheese
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2012
I've made this several times. It's so good and so easy - forgiving, too. I don't measure very carefully with this type of recipe. I had 5 cups of basil leaves this time so I added extra of everything and just added oil until it was the right consistency. Yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 407) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Pesto Sauce

A classic pesto sauce with basil, walnuts, garlic, and Parmesan.

Potato Pesto and Feta Pizza

See how to make a pesto and potato pizza.

Easy Pizza Sauce I

See how to make a simple no-cook pizza sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States