Pesto Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2014
Basil is crazy this year. Make it and freeze it with EVOO in plastic ice cube trays. After frozen put into a sealed plastic bag for use next 3-5 months. Date packages. Olive oil keeps frozen a short time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2014
Very good recipe! Really easy to make, tho it did take a little while in my Magic Bullet. I only made a half recipe, and used a little more oil than called for, as well as fewer walnuts (1 cup instead of 1 cup and 2 TBSP), but it turned out really well! This is the first pesto I've made, so I can't compare it to others, but I DID have to add a LOT of salt and garlic salt to make this flavorful. Perhaps using an herbed oil would have helped? I'm not sure, but with all the extra seasoning, it tasted wonderful. B+ from me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2014
Simple, and simply delicious. I had just made a chicken soup that needed "something." I added a spoonful of this pesto to my bowl and that was IT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie JOY!

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2014
I only gave this recipe a 3 because I had to adjust it. A recipe is only as good as the quality of the ingredients. ie. Olive Oil needs to REALLY be TOP QUALITY. Personally, I use coarse Hawaiian Sea Salt in Pesto or salad dressings. I only used two cloves of glaric and added the EVOO by sight. I add fresh lemon or lime use to retain color. I think it would be nice if the recipes included what brand of olive oil was used to ensure similar or like results. However, I also realize this might not be legally possible due to copy right this and that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
Very easy, very tasty! Used the fresh pesto with cream over linguini ...was delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth
Living In: Berlin, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2014
I just use this recipe for a rough idea on ingredients; delicious with lots of garlic and roasted roasted pine nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belfast, Maine, USA
Living In: Brooks, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
I made this two weeks ago. I had never had pesto before and made this because of an impulse buy of pine nuts at a local farmers market and then doing an ingredient search trying to find a recipe to use them. I still didn't use it right away; I think the color just wasn't appealing. I finally cooked angel hair pasta and added this some of this pesto to it. Amazing. Loved it. I have nothing to compare this to but am making it again today. I cut back a little on the olive oil and toasted the pine nuts at the recommendation of other reviewers. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny C.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clearwater, Florida, USA
Living In: Pinellas Park, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
It was very good. I made a smaller portion and it came out a bit thick... but that was my fault. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2013
This is the best Pesto ever! I do the same exact recipe at home. Yes, Walnuts are cheaper but I would recommend if you are going to use them instead of the trasitional pine nuts, to roast them lightly in a non stick fry pan until they releases oils and become fragrant. I use roasted pine nuts since I do not like the skins from the walnuts in my pesto. I also use Pecorino Romano cheese if I have it, because I love the more potent cheese flavor. Yummo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2013
I followed the recipe as written to a T. I think there is way to many walnuts that is all I tasted. I would not even give it to my family
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 419) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pesto Sauce

A classic pesto sauce with basil, walnuts, garlic, and Parmesan.

Easy Pizza Sauce I

See how to make a simple no-cook pizza sauce.

Exquisite Pizza Sauce

Discover the secret to sensational pizza sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States