Pesto Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
I loved finding a recipe for pesto with walnuts instead of pine nuts since pine nuts can be more expensive as well as seasonal. I made a couple of changes, I added 1 tbl of lemon juice before chopping the basil to keep the fresh green color of the basil, tripled the cheese, and cut the oil back to 3/4-1 c.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2010
This was great. This was the first time I made pesto and had all ready purchased pine nuts so I used half pine nuts and half walnuts so the pine nuts would last longer. It was great! One of the best things I have ever made. Just put it on pasta but plan to stuff a pork tender loin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
I made this for my girlfriend and myself both agreed this was great as is! The garlic does come through a bit, but it is still delicious. I used slightly less oil and slightly more cheese. The foundation of the recipe is great though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marcellus, New York, USA
Living In: Monterey, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2010
I needed more pine nuts so my pesto sauce had too much basil and olive oil. Will follow the recipe exactly next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cdelemos

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Aveiro, Aveiro, Portugal
Living In: Boca Raton, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2010
Fast, easy recipe and you can also freeze what you don't use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2010
This was excellent! We did a mixture of walnuts and pine nuts as that's what we had in the pantry, and my husband ended up adding a dash of cayenne pepper. Delicious! And my 15 month old, who usually barely eats, wouldn't stop eating it. A big hit all around!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2010
This was outstanding! My husband liked it too! A keeper for sure. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommeefit
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2010
I use pine nuts and also crush up a vitamin c tablet to keep the pesto green. Flatten it out in a plastic sealed baggie and toss in freezer. Take out, toss in pasta water to thaw, cut open and toss onto pasta. Done. I add fresh grated cheese at the time of serving and not freeze with the cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Woollysheep

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2010
This is a great and simple recipe for pesto! It is delicious spread on French bread or served over pasta. I love pine nuts in my pesto, however, pine nuts were $5 for a 1/2 cup!!! To save money but still get that pine nut flavor, I used 1/2 walnuts and 1/2 pine nuts. It freezes well and can be used later on a cold winter night. I grow basil every summer just to put up Pesto sauce every fall.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Littleton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2010
simple recipe and easy to follow. pesto turned out delicious! i even had enough to freeze for later. i will definitely make more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 416) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pesto Sauce

A classic pesto sauce with basil, walnuts, garlic, and Parmesan.

Easy Pizza Sauce I

See how to make a simple no-cook pizza sauce.

Exquisite Pizza Sauce

Discover the secret to sensational pizza sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States