Pesto Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2001
The proportion of ingredients were perfect! And its a relief to know that the more affordable walnut can be used instead of the rather expensive pine nut without casualty. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
422 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2003
This is wonderful...but have you tried walnuts? It's great too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2004
This was great! I used pecans instead of walnuts, but the result was good. I like to serve it cold with bowtie pasta. Very easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2004
This was my very first time making pesto and I'm SO glad I chose to start out with this recipe! It was oh-so-easy and so very good; I'm definitely adding it to my All Stars recipe box. I used toasted pine nuts instead of walnuts and we LOVED the flavor. Hubby was very careful so as to not leave any pesto behind; I tried to ignore the finger-licking. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Kantola

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albany, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2003
Couldn't be easier & definitely cheaper using walnuts. I had some green onion I needed to use up, so I added that, as well as increasing the amount of garlic. Very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2003
I think this recipe is great! I've made it a few times. With pine nuts so expensive, walnuts make a great substitute & is a barely noticeable difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jazzy Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: East Brunswick, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2003
I have a basil plant and found this receipe so I could use some of my home grown basil. I'm not fond of walnuts so I used pine nuts instead. The flavor was incrediable. At first the basil was a little strong (I used to much) but after the pesto sat in the frig for a week my pasta dish turned out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mikki

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2004
I was making some gourmet pizzas and thought I'd gotten everything I needed at the store. I forgot the pesto sauce. Frantically, I searched and found this recipe. This was better than any bought pesto sauce I've tried. However, I have to disagree with those who say it's too oily. I cut back on the oil and had to end up adding the rest because the sauce was too thick to spread on the pizzas. I did not have fresh basil, so I used about 1 1/2 tsp. of dried basil. It was still good. I loved this and will surely make it again. Even the kids liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LillyJ

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2004
My sister-in-law has made a very similar sauce for years and it is definitely the best sauce you will find for its ease of use. I have seen a few reviews stating oil problems. My recipe uses a blender full of basil (just loosely piled) and a 1/2 cup of oil. Then three tbls of cheese and 4 cloves of garlic (will be garlicky). Salt and pepper aren't required and 4 servings will be made. We serve our's with the pine nuts on top and if you want it cheesier then you can easily put it on after.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2004
I omitted the Walnuts. And was totally thrilled with the recipe. Great taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LEE61

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Leominster, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 416) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pesto Sauce

A classic pesto sauce with basil, walnuts, garlic, and Parmesan.

Easy Pizza Sauce I

See how to make a simple no-cook pizza sauce.

Exquisite Pizza Sauce

Discover the secret to sensational pizza sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States