Pesto Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2011
I used the greens from the holly grove market, thai basil and some Asian cooking green from Mary Queen of Vietnam. I used sunflower seeds from an airport vendor and the jared garlic. Excellent flavor and the proportion is perfect. I read somewhere about puting some in an ice cube tray and freezing for later use. We'll see if that works. It made a little over 2 cups. You may want to half the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Metairie, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2011
I think there was way too much oil in this recipe and I also think it was bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2011
It was suggested to me by a friend to substitute Spinach for the basil and to give the sauce a kick add a fresh jalapeño to the blender. The spinach tastes great and as Mom, I feel good my kids are getting their spinach! Great versatile recipe - it has been a family favorite in my home for years!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2011
It was great. Walnuts or pinenuts, I just use what I have on hand. I am not a strict measurer, but generally I use a little less olive oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2011
I thought this was excellent. Followed the recipe exactly, put in my blender and used on chicken panini's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by artbkward

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: West Lafayette, Ohio, USA
Living In: Delaware, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2011
My 18 y/o son made this tonight with basil from our garden, pine nuts, Romano and the 4 cloves of garlic. Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2011
Loved it! (and I appreciate that I didn't "have" to use expensive pine nuts in this version.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2011
Great taste. I serve this over noodles with red peppers and onions that have been roasted on the grill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
This was quite good and easy to make. I was very happy with it, especially considering I'd never made pesto before. The only changes I made were using 1/2 cup pine nuts and 1 cup walnuts instead of all walnuts, and using a little less oil than recommended. If I was making this again, I'd change a few more things: first, I'd use more basil and less nuts. This pesto tasted very nutty to me compared to others I've had. Second, I would use even less oil - no more than 3/4 cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 410) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pesto Sauce

A classic pesto sauce with basil, walnuts, garlic, and Parmesan.

Potato Pesto and Feta Pizza

See how to make a pesto and potato pizza.

Easy Pizza Sauce I

See how to make a simple no-cook pizza sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States