Pesto Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2012
My husband never really liked pesto sauce until I made this one. I added 2 heaping teaspoons of freshly grated Romano cheese, but I think it was the walnuts that made the difference. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tyler, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2012
Excellent flavor. I used almonds instead of walnuts but otherwise, I didn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2012
I'm with many of the others. It was way too walnutty. Next time I'll bring the amount down by a lot (1/2c maybe) and up the parm. I ended up with a huge batch because I continued to add basil, garlic, and parm to try to drown out the heavy walnut flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2012
5 stars because it's easy to customize! I used unsalted sunflower seeds (I washed the salt off); used dried garlic (the flavor just gets bigger after a day) & used grated Romano Cheese. I also used a tiny (tiny!) bit of liquid smoke since I didn't use any salt or pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emme

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2012
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2012
I can't believe I have never made pesto before but I haven't. This is the first recipe I have tried. Overall I thought it was really good. I think I might need more parm but I also didn't exactly measure it so it may have been on the light side by my own fault. I liked the walnuts but am interested in what it will taste like with traditional pine nuts instead. I used it on baked chicken the first night (which was okay, think I would have preferred to grill it) and on small elbow macaroni the second time - which was really, really good. It made 2 cups. I also did squeeze a half a lemon in it to keep the basil from turning black, which worked and added just another great flavor element to it (and my Italian friends told me I needed lemon). I would make this again but will also still try other pesto recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ABCT77

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2012
i love this recipe! It's awesome. i used pine nuts instead of walnuts and used 3/4 cups of olive oil instead of 1 cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2012
This is a great recipe! It whips up so fast and there's really no way to mess it up. I added extra garlic, but I'm a garlic fiend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2012
it's good. really easy to make and most of all, really healthy. thank you :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2012
Its turn out to be awesome ! My friend like it very much - he's actually a food lover, so he always have his own opinion on food ( criticize ) . So by getting 'approval' from him on this one, I feel totally great ! I took advice from other reviewer so end up I use only 1/2 cup walnuts, 2 cloves garlic, 1/2 cup Parmesan cheese, 1/2 cup olive oil :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 407) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Pesto Sauce

A classic pesto sauce with basil, walnuts, garlic, and Parmesan.

Potato Pesto and Feta Pizza

See how to make a pesto and potato pizza.

Easy Pizza Sauce I

See how to make a simple no-cook pizza sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States