Pesto Primavera Tortellini with Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2014
OK, I can die happy. This is the kind of recipe that has made me a better cook. Maybe a better person too. At one time I would've worried I didn't have *exactly* the right ingredients - prompting yet another trip to the grocery store or not making the dish at all. What are the important ingredients? Pasta. Fresh basil, pine nuts, grated cheese, and olive oil to make pesto. Vegetables. Chicken, if desired. Other than that, it's up to you. Next time I'll change it up, based on what I have on hand. I made everything on the stovetop -there's no need to heat the oven. Here's what I did: Simmered butternut squash agnolotti for 4 min, then rinsed in cold water. (I'd been looking for a recipe to use this up, but almost any will do.) I made pesto in my Ninja: 1 cup fresh basil, 2 cloves garlic, ¼ cup pine nuts, ? cup grated cheese (combo of Asiago, parmesan, and Romano), salt + olive oil. Didn't add lemon juice since I didn't have any. On medium-high heat, sautéd onion, red pepper, and spicy chicken sausage from Trader Joe's (what I had) for 4-5 min, then added fresh mushrooms. Turned heat down to med-low; added 1 clove minced garlic and zucchini. I didn't have any asparagus, but added ½ cup frozen spinach to simmer for 2 min. I added ½ of the pesto (saved the rest for later since there are only 3 of us), cooked pasta, some cherry tomatoes, and 1-2 tablespoons water so it wouldn't dry out. I let this simmer just to warm things up, and served with extra Parmesan cheese. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WeSkiVa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2014
This was very good and my whole family enjoyed it. It's a very versatile recipe that you can change up with what you have on hand. I enjoyed the roasted veggie flavor with the chicken and tortellini. I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
This was such a great recipe! I've never cooked a pesto before, but yum!!! I was very proud of it, and everyone seemed to love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Devighn Kelley

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2014
Delicious and a very colorful dish! The chopped vegetables can be easily subbed for whatever is in your fridge, which I have done often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Claire Rozmus

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2014
This stuff is amazing. I wouldn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
Very good, but a lot of steps. I've made many versions of this recipe, always sautéing my vegetables together. It prevents the zucchini from becoming mushy because I add my veggies depending on the time they need to be cooked. I substituted many things, including Italian sausage for the chicken. I skipped the asparagus and added more mushrooms. It may seem like a lot of veggies, but they shrink when you cook them - so add what you like. Very versatile recipe. I was hesitant to make a recipe submitted by a cleaning product... After all the worst part of cooking is the messy kitchen! But with my suggestion, cleanup is easier. I make the veggies and meat in one, large pan. Then add the cooked tortellini ( any pasta will do) and pesto. Oh ya, I make my pesto in large batches and freeze it in ice cube trays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by italqt
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2014
Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by courtneyolson1
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2014
I have made it over and over again and it never gets old. Everyone I have made it for has LOVED it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
Awesome recipe - perfect for Springtime! I used Classico pesto, and leftover grilled chicken breasts. At 400, the vegetables were done after 20 minutes. I turned the oven off, added the chicken and tomatoes to the pan, and kept in the oven while the pasta finished cooking. Absolutely delicious...the grape tomatoes are essential! Can't wait to have it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
This was delicious, light, balanced, and colorful. A great way to use up the summer garden harvest. I also deglazed the chicken skillet with a little broth to add more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cynthia Bridges Coffey

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pesto Chicken Florentine

Tender chicken served with penne pasta in a creamy spinach and pesto sauce.

Pesto Pasta with Chicken

A simple chicken pasta with pesto and sun-dried tomatoes.

Chicken Pesto Paninis

These sandwiches make a tasty, easy weeknight dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States