Pesto Polenta Lasagna Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
This is a very good basic recipe starting with pre-made ingredients. However, I always have homemade marinara sauce in the freezer, and pesto is so simple to make. The packaged polenta is okay, but I do prefer to make my own. Also very simple to do. And many of these things can be made in advance and thrown together at the last minute. I think it's much easier to control the sodium content and also the "mystery ingredients" that are found in pre-made foods. Also, try adding some sauteed mushrooms on top of the sauce for a meaty "meatless" dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2011
This was definitely very tasty, and it is a versatile recipe - I added a layer of vegetarian Morningstar Italian sausage, and sauteed mushrooms, spinach, and onion. But somehow this came out more liquidy than intended. It was still delicious, but it almost became more of a stew once I put it on my plate than a lasagna!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2011
We loved this, too - it satisfied our non-vegetarian family and our two toddlers quite well. I sauteed some garlic, onion, mushrooms and fresh spinach together, added it to some ricotta and shredded parmesan cheese and added that layer just before the second layer of polenta. I'll be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
needs more substance, seemed like it was polenta and sauce and that's it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2011
This is the best thing I've tasted in a long time. I made only minor adjustments but I'm sure I would have been just as happy with the recipe as written. (however, I made my own polenta as opposed to using the refrigerated premade kind - I've never had that and I'm not sure how it compares to homemade)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2011
Absolutely outstanding!! Added some sundried tomatoes to the sauce. Will definitely make again! Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2011
So good! I threw the polenta under the broiler for a bit (both sides) to crisp it up before putting this together. I put some spinach in too, since I had some leftover, and added Romano to the mozzarella for more depth of flavor. The pine nuts get all toasty and make this recipe perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennafir

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2011
I doubled this recipe to feed 8 people and it was very good! The Trader Joe's polenta I used was pretty salty so I would advise against adding any extra salt to this dish. Very good, easy and economical and perfect for a vegetarian dish. I would give it four and a half stars if I could.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April D.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2011
Excellent base recipe for a very unique and delicious lasagna! I added sauteed spinach, fresh basil and parmesan cheese to mine, and it was great. Maybe we are just big eaters, but this made just enough for our family of 4...if you are trying to serve 8, I would double this recipe and make it in a 9 x 13 baking dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2011
This recipe was great! I used the packaged polenta from Trader Joe's and also added some slices of eggplant as suggested by another reviewer. I browned the polenta before I put it in the pan and didn't find it to be too mushy- though with all the sauce and cheese I am not sure how crisp it could have been (I'm a beginner!). I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 61-70 (of 163) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pesto Polenta Lasagna

See how to make delicious pesto and polenta lasagna.

Spinach Lasagna III

This hearty meatless lasagna is layered with cheese, fresh spinach, and sauce.

Easy Lasagna II

This top-rated recipe is lasagna made simple.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States