Pesto Pizza Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2003
Quick and easy and a big hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2003
Very yummy! I added about 1/4 cup parmesan alfredo sauce to the dough before spreading the pesto sauce. I also cut the pizza in slices and served for dinner. My husband asked me where I bought the pizza from. It looked and tasted like a gourmet pizza. Thanks, Ann!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2003
Maybe I had lame pesto or something but I think maybe that "smidge of tomato sauce" that is purposefully NOT on these pizzas would be a good addition. My homemade-pizza-loving family didn't like these and if I make them again I'll layer on some pizza sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elk Grove, California, USA
Living In: Crestwood, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2004
DELISH! For starters, I chose to use a crust recipe from this site (Jay's Signature Pizza Crust - scaled to 1/2). Then for the Pesto, I used a recipe from this site (Pesto..by Valerie) and it in itself was a 5* - simply amazing. To the Ricotta I added 1t minced garlic and blended with Asiago (I substituted freshly shredded Asiago for Parmesan because it's what I had on hand - I don't see anywhere in the directions where it says to use the Romano, so I used all Asiago). I spooned 3T spaghetti sauce from a jar onto the Pesto (we love sauce) before laying down the Ricotta blend. I topped with Roma tomatoes, 1 cup diced cooked chicken, 1/2 can drained artichoke hearts, 2oz sliced fresh mushrooms, 1/2 of a diced red pepper, 1/2 of a diced green pepper, small can of sliced black olives, and more shredded Asiago to taste on top. Baked on pizza stone. Reduced cooking temp to 375 and increased cooking time to 30 mins to enable heating of so much topping. We couldn't get over how fabulous this pizza tasted - like something from a restaurant! The crust was perfect and the Pesto made the recipe! Thanks for such an inspiring base pizza - we will use this over & over!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2004
I added alfredo sauce, chicken and mozzerella cheese. I didn't add the tomatoes. My husband really enjoyed this. I didn't care much for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bolingbrook, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2004
So tasty! I added small slices of proscutto. You can also use capacola! For extra garlic lovers like my family, I thinly slice a clove of garlic and put that on top so it gets crispy in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenwee99

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2004
very cool for individual pizza night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ZAFIRO80

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Staten Island, New York, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2006
Quite tasty! Instead of romano, I used a big handful of shredded "Italian blend" cheese to the ricotta/parmesan mix. Also put a little of that on top of the tomatoes w/ a sprinkling of Italian seasoning. Next time I'll chop of pieces of chicken to add to the tomato layer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA
Living In: Lawrenceville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by What a Dish!
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2006
This was so good. I misread the recipe and mixed the pesto w/the ricotta. After I realized my mistake, I spread a thin layer of just pesto on the pizza, sprinkled a few spoonfuls of parm on that, and then added the ricotta/pesto mixture. Then I sprinkled some parm on top of that (not nearly as much as recipe states). I think my mess-up was actually a good thing, as it was really good this way. I left the tomatoes off of my kids' portion and they loved this pizza too, especially my 4-year old. Using a pre-baked crust made it so easy. I used low-fat ricotta. I made my own pesto (Simple Garlic and Basil Pesto from this site, which was sooo good). This is one I will be making again. Can't wait to try it with tomatoes from the farmer's market! Oh, and I did not miss tomato sauce, at all. My hubby said it was one of the best pizza's he's ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2006
Yummy. I used a Pillsbury Pizza Crust in a tube and recipe as shown did not make enough to cover the crust - luckily I have picky boys and used regular sauce and mozzarella for their half. Good recipe though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Potato Pesto and Feta Pizza

See how to make a pesto and potato pizza.

Potato Pesto Pizza

See how to make a flavor-packed potato and pesto pizza.

Chicken Pesto Pizza

Presto, it’s pesto! Enjoy a quick-and-easy chicken pesto pizza.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States