Pesto Pizza Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 6, 2003
Very yummy! I added about 1/4 cup parmesan alfredo sauce to the dough before spreading the pesto sauce. I also cut the pizza in slices and served for dinner. My husband asked me where I bought the pizza from. It looked and tasted like a gourmet pizza. Thanks, Ann!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2004
DELISH! For starters, I chose to use a crust recipe from this site (Jay's Signature Pizza Crust - scaled to 1/2). Then for the Pesto, I used a recipe from this site (Pesto..by Valerie) and it in itself was a 5* - simply amazing. To the Ricotta I added 1t minced garlic and blended with Asiago (I substituted freshly shredded Asiago for Parmesan because it's what I had on hand - I don't see anywhere in the directions where it says to use the Romano, so I used all Asiago). I spooned 3T spaghetti sauce from a jar onto the Pesto (we love sauce) before laying down the Ricotta blend. I topped with Roma tomatoes, 1 cup diced cooked chicken, 1/2 can drained artichoke hearts, 2oz sliced fresh mushrooms, 1/2 of a diced red pepper, 1/2 of a diced green pepper, small can of sliced black olives, and more shredded Asiago to taste on top. Baked on pizza stone. Reduced cooking temp to 375 and increased cooking time to 30 mins to enable heating of so much topping. We couldn't get over how fabulous this pizza tasted - like something from a restaurant! The crust was perfect and the Pesto made the recipe! Thanks for such an inspiring base pizza - we will use this over & over!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2003
Quick and easy and a big hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2008
We had some leftover homemade pesto that we used for this and loved it. We also added canned mushrooms, artichoke hearts, fresh spinach and red onions. This was spectacular!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2003
Maybe I had lame pesto or something but I think maybe that "smidge of tomato sauce" that is purposefully NOT on these pizzas would be a good addition. My homemade-pizza-loving family didn't like these and if I make them again I'll layer on some pizza sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elk Grove, California, USA
Living In: Crestwood, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2004
So tasty! I added small slices of proscutto. You can also use capacola! For extra garlic lovers like my family, I thinly slice a clove of garlic and put that on top so it gets crispy in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenwee99

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2007
My family had an "Appetizer Night" for dinner and this was a hit! I helped my little sister make these and we didn't change a thing aside from using lower calorie ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wilco

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by zahllina
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2007
I really liked this pizza! I used the refrigerated pizza crust in a can (which is one thing I would do differently next time; the crust was not as thick as I would have preferred) and I used only one sliced tomato. I also added some chopped mushrooms and lightly sprinkled some onion and garlic powder on the top. I added just a touch of shredded mozz & sharp cheddar. I have to say... this pizza is not for everyone. I think that if I tried to serve this to most of the people I know (who LOVE their meats and cheeses), well, they'd probably only eat a square or two. Myself - I prefer my pizza sauce, but this was a VERY nice change for a very delicious pizza!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zahllina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jordan, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Burnsville, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2004
very cool for individual pizza night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ZAFIRO80

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Staten Island, New York, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
This is a very easy and quick recipe that we all loved! We have now tried them with lots of different crusts (english muffins, tortillas, flat bread etc.). We even made them it in a panini sandwich. Used mozerella rather than the ricotta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IrisMac
Home Town: Fairfax Station, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Potato Pesto and Feta Pizza

See how to make a pesto and potato pizza.

Potato Pesto Pizza

See how to make a flavor-packed potato and pesto pizza.

Chicken Pesto Pizza

Presto, it’s pesto! Enjoy a quick-and-easy chicken pesto pizza.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States