Pesto Pizza Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by What a Dish!
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2006
This was so good. I misread the recipe and mixed the pesto w/the ricotta. After I realized my mistake, I spread a thin layer of just pesto on the pizza, sprinkled a few spoonfuls of parm on that, and then added the ricotta/pesto mixture. Then I sprinkled some parm on top of that (not nearly as much as recipe states). I think my mess-up was actually a good thing, as it was really good this way. I left the tomatoes off of my kids' portion and they loved this pizza too, especially my 4-year old. Using a pre-baked crust made it so easy. I used low-fat ricotta. I made my own pesto (Simple Garlic and Basil Pesto from this site, which was sooo good). This is one I will be making again. Can't wait to try it with tomatoes from the farmer's market! Oh, and I did not miss tomato sauce, at all. My hubby said it was one of the best pizza's he's ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Christine M
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2009
Fantastic flavor! I did, however, make one huge alteration and that was to use shredded mozzarella in place of the ricotta, only because we had a dish with ricotta the other night and wasn't in the mood for it again. Worked out perfectly! I used the quick and easy Whole Wheat and Honey Pizza Dough recipe from this site, and sprinkled a little dried oregano on top before baking. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
This was definitely the best pesto pizza I've ever had! The combination of the cheeses was fantastic. Didn't eat the whole pizza, and the next day the cold slices were still great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2010
This was a great easy to make recipe that will definitely make it to one of my "go to" meals. I substituted the ready made crust with a Boboli Whole Wheat crust to make a little more health conscious. People kept asking for more! Next time I will try to top with roasted pine nuts or walnuts! (Tasted even better when served at room temp)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NazzGirl329

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2008
We had some leftover homemade pesto that we used for this and loved it. We also added canned mushrooms, artichoke hearts, fresh spinach and red onions. This was spectacular!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2007
My family had an "Appetizer Night" for dinner and this was a hit! I helped my little sister make these and we didn't change a thing aside from using lower calorie ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wilco

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2003
Quick and easy and a big hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2003
Very yummy! I added about 1/4 cup parmesan alfredo sauce to the dough before spreading the pesto sauce. I also cut the pizza in slices and served for dinner. My husband asked me where I bought the pizza from. It looked and tasted like a gourmet pizza. Thanks, Ann!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2004
DELISH! For starters, I chose to use a crust recipe from this site (Jay's Signature Pizza Crust - scaled to 1/2). Then for the Pesto, I used a recipe from this site (Pesto..by Valerie) and it in itself was a 5* - simply amazing. To the Ricotta I added 1t minced garlic and blended with Asiago (I substituted freshly shredded Asiago for Parmesan because it's what I had on hand - I don't see anywhere in the directions where it says to use the Romano, so I used all Asiago). I spooned 3T spaghetti sauce from a jar onto the Pesto (we love sauce) before laying down the Ricotta blend. I topped with Roma tomatoes, 1 cup diced cooked chicken, 1/2 can drained artichoke hearts, 2oz sliced fresh mushrooms, 1/2 of a diced red pepper, 1/2 of a diced green pepper, small can of sliced black olives, and more shredded Asiago to taste on top. Baked on pizza stone. Reduced cooking temp to 375 and increased cooking time to 30 mins to enable heating of so much topping. We couldn't get over how fabulous this pizza tasted - like something from a restaurant! The crust was perfect and the Pesto made the recipe! Thanks for such an inspiring base pizza - we will use this over & over!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2004
So tasty! I added small slices of proscutto. You can also use capacola! For extra garlic lovers like my family, I thinly slice a clove of garlic and put that on top so it gets crispy in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenwee99

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Potato Pesto and Feta Pizza

See how to make a pesto and potato pizza.

Potato Pesto Pizza

See how to make a flavor-packed potato and pesto pizza.

Chicken Pesto Pizza

Presto, it’s pesto! Enjoy a quick-and-easy chicken pesto pizza.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States