Pesto Pepper Tortellini Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2002
Although this recipe is similar to so many others that I have tried from this site, there was something about it that I found it to be tooo rich. I couldn't eat alot (and luckily, it doesn't make alot). It wasn't bad, and it had taste but I'm not sure if I will make this one again. I added some green bell peppers and some fresh sliced mushrooms. Perhaps the addition of grilled chicken strips? Or maybe the use of half and half or even less whipping cream? Or maybe, you just have to have a love for tortellini to like this. As for us, my daughter and I barely finished our plates and my boyfriend helped himeself to leftovers in the fridge instead of trying this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2006
I followed the recipe exactly, minus the walnuts. I served sliced Italian sausage on the side, and garlic bread. This was sooooooo good, and my husband loved it too. I will be adding this to my regular menu!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Breezy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Arcadia, California, USA
Living In: San Clemente, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
I did not follow the recipe exactly. I added chicken. & parmesan cheese into the sauce (alot of It). I made homemade garlic bread along with it. It turned out AMAZING. very filling. WILL DEFINITLY DO AGAIN
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2003
Yum! I sautéed mushrooms with the garlic (in olive oil instead of butter). I also used just milk (less than called for) instead of cream and added some Parmesan cheese to help thicken the sauce. It was a thin sauce, but good! I didn't use walnuts either and it was great! I will make it again soon. I think it would be great with other fresh vegetables too (zucchini, squash, etc.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2011
I didnt like this at all but the hubby loved it. He asked me to make this one again. I didnt care for the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Newbury Park, California, USA
Living In: Winfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
This was a good recipe for a base but I made lots of changes. First of all I sauteed the garlic and peppers in olive oil. I used half and half and after reading other reviews I thickened with corn starch. I also used store bought pesto that I had on hand. I grilled chicken and sliced into strips. I also added cherry tomatoes sliced in half. I added salt, pepper, a little Italian seasoning and Parmesan cheese. I steamed some frozen veggies for side dish and served with garlic bread. It was wonderful. My husband loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2007
This turned out very nicely, although I did make a couple moderations. I used both red and yellow peppers simply for colour. I also used oil instead of butter. Before adding the cream to the skillet, I whisked 1 tbsp of white flour into the cold cream to add thickness. And I added a good amount of parmesean cheese in with the onions and basil and also some fresh ground black pepper. In the end it worked out really well, but I do agree with the user who said it could stand some salt (that's something to be said since I am the type of person who never adds salt to anything). The sauce didn't have as much taste as I would have liked and I think salt would remedy this perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Proclaimthename

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Seattle2Sydney
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
I served this with grated cheddar on top. The kids really enjoyed it. While I like red peppers, I think I'd prefer it with some other vegetable such as perhaps broccoli.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
This was a great dish! I have little ones & they loved it! It was easy to make & was a change of pace of the "normal meals" we have. This is a must add to your recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2010
I found this exact recipe in my Taste of Home Quick Cooking 1999. It is good, but heavy cream does not thicken on it's own. Cooked everything, mixed together, then had to pick out all the stuff and thicken the sauce with some milk and flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pesto Sauce

A classic pesto sauce with basil, walnuts, garlic, and Parmesan.

Italian Sausage Soup with Tortellini

This traditional, hearty soup is a meal all by itself.

Potato Pesto and Feta Pizza

See how to make a pesto and potato pizza.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States