Pesto Pasta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by PavlodarSwede
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2009
First, the success of this recipe depends highly on what kind of pesto you're using. Second, you can vary this one a lot according to your tastes. I added a little fresh jalepeno to give it a slight tinge. I also added a little fresh minced garlic. Works well if you strain, then toss it lightly in the frying pan with the pesto mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PavlodarSwede

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2009
Quick and easy meal! I used a bit more pesto in the sauce as previously suggested and added some garlic. It was very good and incredibly quick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2009
This was an alright recipe, I followed other people's advice and made more sauce than the recipe calls for but it still was just ok. It was very easy, however, so that was a plus. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2009
An excellent base recipe that you can tweak to suit taste. I used half a dip tub of pesto dip and a half tub of spinach ricotta dip that had been sitting in the fridge for a while, which I wanted to use up. Added a couple of cloves of garlic to saute with the onion. Saved some of the hot water that was used to boil the pasta and added it to the sauce to thicken it up. Cooked up some diced bacon and breadcrumbs to crispness and used as topping on the pasta. Delish with a bottle of white wine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2009
This was good but a bit dry. I sauted the onions to sweeten them up and then added some chopped sun dried tomatoes in olive oil. I added the pesto to that mixture for just long enough to get it heated through when the pasta was finished. We added some extra pesto as it was dry. A extra sprinkle of parmesan and we never missed meat. I never would have thought of adding sauted onions to pesto pasta but it was very good. This will be made again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Plymouth, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2008
I made the recipe as is and it was completely dry. I wound up adding the whole jar of pesto (8oz) and that made it decent. It was very bland, though. My kids did like it, but DH and I found it tolerable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2008
This was a good and easy dish. I've made it twice already. It's definately not on the heavy side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nairie

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Simi Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2008
Easy to make but very mild on flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2008
Good basic pesto recipe. While this won't wow anyone, it's a place to start.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Augusta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2008
it was good probably a little too bland for my liking. The second time i made it i added more pesto and cheese, threw in some garlic, chicken and aspargus. gave it a real kick!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin Natalie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grass Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pesto Pasta with Chicken

A simple chicken pasta with pesto and sun-dried tomatoes.

Eggless Pasta

See how to make homemade fresh pasta without using eggs.

Souper Skillet Pasta

See how to make this quick and easy dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States