Pesto Pasta with Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2006
My husband & I really liked this simple pasta dish. I was hungry for something with pesto. I made my own for this; my recipe produced about a cup of pesto and I ended up using it all; 1/2c didn't seem like enough. I'm not used to using crushed red pepper flakes so wasn't certain how much to add; did about 1/4 tsp and it was just right; might do slightly more next time. Sprinkled parmesan and toasted pine nuts on top of each serving. YUMMO! Thanks so much, Kristin! (My pesto recipe: 1/2c evoo, 1c fresh basil leaves, 1/2 tsp salt, 2 garlic cloves, 1/2c toasted pine nuts, 1/2c parmesan; blend all together in blender or food processor.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
642 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2008
I have made this so many times! People ALWAYS will ask you for the recipe! The pesto sauce I use (classico brand) has tons of garlic, so I don't add any extra. Using bowties is a good idea, the sauce sticks good to this shape. The sundried tomatoes in oil are the best, chopped small, with a little extra drizzle of the oil. Adding fresh parmesan makes it happen! Makes lots, cause it gets gobbled up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
461 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2005
This is a good recipe.... I made a few modifications - I used 16 dry-packed sun-dried tomatoes instead of oil-packed (soaked them in boiling water for 3-5 minutes and then coarsely chopped) and added a handful of toasted pine nuts (omitted red pepper flakes though). Very easy and tasty. I used half of a 270mL basil Classico pesto, if that helps anyone. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
365 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2002
This was so delicious and easy to make! My husband and two year old loved it. I used the olive oil from the sundried tomatoes to cook the chicken in which gave it a great flavor. Next time I will add more sundried tomatoes and some roasted pine nuts too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
170 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2005
Quick and easy to prepare! I cannot wait to make this again. Definiately throw a few toasted pine nuts on top of the dish as well as some shredded fresh parmesan. I have also made this with chicken tortellini and it was also excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
105 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2006
I made this recipe last night, and both my husband and I really enjoyed it. As others, I made a few changes - I used the oil from the sundried tomatoes, and I know I used more than 1 teaspoon, more like a couple of tablespoons - next time, I think I will saute in some chicken broth to cut the fat . I also added some slice crimini mushrooms, some sliced roasted red peppers, more sundried tomatoes, and a sprinkle of parmesan. After the chicken and mushrooms were cooked, I tossed in the sundried tomatoes and red peppers, then tossed in the cooked whole wheat rotini pasta and the pesto, while keeping the pan on low. Tossing in a bowl would have been nicer presentation, but it was just the two of us, so I had one less bowl to wash. I have never been a pesto fan, but I liked this. It was not the best, as in 5 stars, but real close, It was relatively quick and easy to make and I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
92 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Red Bank, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Windermere, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LWELKNER
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2008
I have often made a different pesto/pasta/chicken recipe from this site and enjoyed it. I thought that I would try this out to compare. I think it beat out the competition because my husband went for seconds (he NEVER does) and my 3 & 5 year old both told me that it was very good. I followed the recipe for the most part except I added 4 chicken breasts instead of 2 and sauteed the garlic and chicken in 2 tbl of oil from the sundried tomatoes, not olive oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LWELKNER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Downers Grove, Illinois, USA
Living In: Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2007
Instead of using 'additional' olive oil, I used the olive oil marinating the sun-dried tomatoes to cooked the chicken in. It had all sorts of spices, including garlic and oregano...yummy! Also tossed in some thinly sliced red onion in the end, which was a great addition to the flavour!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ADRIENE LIMA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tillsonburg, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Omura, Nagasaki, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2008
This was a winner in our house! The whole family loved it! I did use whole wheat pasta and I marinated the chicken in a little Italian dressing and Pesto Vinagrette dressing. I also did not use oil to saute the chicken, I used a tsp. of the oil from the sun dried tomatoes. I served it with a green salad and everyone was happy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Mchenry, Illinois, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2002
Great dish. My husband loved it! Very easy to make after a long day at work (and it is good the next day for lunch too). When I have more time, I may try to make my own pesto, but Contadina worked for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 515) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pesto Pasta with Chicken

A simple chicken pasta with pesto and sun-dried tomatoes.

Chicken and Bow Tie Pasta

See how to make chicken with vegetables in a creamy cheese sauce.

Pesto Chicken Florentine

Tender chicken served with penne pasta in a creamy spinach and pesto sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States