Pesto Pasta with Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2006
My husband & I really liked this simple pasta dish. I was hungry for something with pesto. I made my own for this; my recipe produced about a cup of pesto and I ended up using it all; 1/2c didn't seem like enough. I'm not used to using crushed red pepper flakes so wasn't certain how much to add; did about 1/4 tsp and it was just right; might do slightly more next time. Sprinkled parmesan and toasted pine nuts on top of each serving. YUMMO! Thanks so much, Kristin! (My pesto recipe: 1/2c evoo, 1c fresh basil leaves, 1/2 tsp salt, 2 garlic cloves, 1/2c toasted pine nuts, 1/2c parmesan; blend all together in blender or food processor.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
627 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2008
I have made this so many times! People ALWAYS will ask you for the recipe! The pesto sauce I use (classico brand) has tons of garlic, so I don't add any extra. Using bowties is a good idea, the sauce sticks good to this shape. The sundried tomatoes in oil are the best, chopped small, with a little extra drizzle of the oil. Adding fresh parmesan makes it happen! Makes lots, cause it gets gobbled up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
453 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2005
This is a good recipe.... I made a few modifications - I used 16 dry-packed sun-dried tomatoes instead of oil-packed (soaked them in boiling water for 3-5 minutes and then coarsely chopped) and added a handful of toasted pine nuts (omitted red pepper flakes though). Very easy and tasty. I used half of a 270mL basil Classico pesto, if that helps anyone. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
356 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2002
This was so delicious and easy to make! My husband and two year old loved it. I used the olive oil from the sundried tomatoes to cook the chicken in which gave it a great flavor. Next time I will add more sundried tomatoes and some roasted pine nuts too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
167 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2005
Quick and easy to prepare! I cannot wait to make this again. Definiately throw a few toasted pine nuts on top of the dish as well as some shredded fresh parmesan. I have also made this with chicken tortellini and it was also excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
102 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2006
I made this recipe last night, and both my husband and I really enjoyed it. As others, I made a few changes - I used the oil from the sundried tomatoes, and I know I used more than 1 teaspoon, more like a couple of tablespoons - next time, I think I will saute in some chicken broth to cut the fat . I also added some slice crimini mushrooms, some sliced roasted red peppers, more sundried tomatoes, and a sprinkle of parmesan. After the chicken and mushrooms were cooked, I tossed in the sundried tomatoes and red peppers, then tossed in the cooked whole wheat rotini pasta and the pesto, while keeping the pan on low. Tossing in a bowl would have been nicer presentation, but it was just the two of us, so I had one less bowl to wash. I have never been a pesto fan, but I liked this. It was not the best, as in 5 stars, but real close, It was relatively quick and easy to make and I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
92 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Red Bank, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Windermere, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LWELKNER
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2008
I have often made a different pesto/pasta/chicken recipe from this site and enjoyed it. I thought that I would try this out to compare. I think it beat out the competition because my husband went for seconds (he NEVER does) and my 3 & 5 year old both told me that it was very good. I followed the recipe for the most part except I added 4 chicken breasts instead of 2 and sauteed the garlic and chicken in 2 tbl of oil from the sundried tomatoes, not olive oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LWELKNER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Downers Grove, Illinois, USA
Living In: Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2007
Instead of using 'additional' olive oil, I used the olive oil marinating the sun-dried tomatoes to cooked the chicken in. It had all sorts of spices, including garlic and oregano...yummy! Also tossed in some thinly sliced red onion in the end, which was a great addition to the flavour!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ADRIENE LIMA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tillsonburg, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Omura, Nagasaki, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2008
This was a winner in our house! The whole family loved it! I did use whole wheat pasta and I marinated the chicken in a little Italian dressing and Pesto Vinagrette dressing. I also did not use oil to saute the chicken, I used a tsp. of the oil from the sun dried tomatoes. I served it with a green salad and everyone was happy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Mchenry, Illinois, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2002
Great dish. My husband loved it! Very easy to make after a long day at work (and it is good the next day for lunch too). When I have more time, I may try to make my own pesto, but Contadina worked for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 494) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pesto Pasta with Chicken

A simple chicken pasta with pesto and sun-dried tomatoes.

Chicken and Bow Tie Pasta

See how to make chicken with vegetables in a creamy cheese sauce.

Pesto Chicken Florentine

Tender chicken served with penne pasta in a creamy spinach and pesto sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States