Pesto Pasta with Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2015
I made this last night and it was good. I cook for my sister and myself and we both liked it (I must say that I surf the internet for recipes because she is very picky about what she'll eat and has a very limited palate, so I am constantly looking to add variety while cooking something she will like and eat). I did alter the recipe some because it just didn't seem right. Number 1 was the amount of bow-tie pasta--I cut it in half. I flattened the chicken breasts and cooked them in the olive oil and garlic then removed from pan. Then added about 4oz. each of sliced mushrooms, grape tomatoes, and sliced red pepper to the pan and sauteed. Then I chopped the chicken into bite size pieces and combined all ingredients in a bowl with the pesto (from Costco, 1/2 cup plus 2 tbls). Garnished with fresh basil leaves, pine nuts, and parmasean cheese. Added a side dish of steamed broccoli. It was really delicious. I really get my inspiration from the comments to the recipes on this site. With that in mind, I decided to write this, my first comment. Thank you to all of you fine cooks who take the time to write comments. I'm hooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dan Wilson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2015
The most critical part of this recipe is the Pesto. Store bought Pesto is almost always mediocre. The Pesto sauce should be part of the recipe and NOT just an ingredient. There is no way to get a consistent flavor with store bought sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2015
This was pretty good but I was slightly underwhelmed...hoping for more flavor, I think. I used store-bought pesto and I'm thinking if I had used fresh or possibly a different sauce it would have been better. I doubled the garlic and used roughly 3/4 cup of pesto. I couldn't find sun-dried tomatoes in oil so I used dry - I'll probably take other reviewers' advice in the future and saturate them before adding to dish. I will definitely make again and play with this until it's a 5-star recipe for me. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2015
I thought it needed a little more sauce,but the flavor was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charis Woods

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2015
It was so quick and delicious! The recipe makes enough for 2 meals, which is great since I'm on a tight budget.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rick Pilcher
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2015
My boyfriend and I loved this recipe. I sautéed mushrooms to mix in as well as mozzarella cheese. Sprinkled some parmesan on top and baked it for 15 minutes at 350 degrees. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2015
Used leftover chicken that I had already baked in Italian dressing for a previous meal. Just warmed it through with olive oil and garlic stated in recipe. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2015
This was AMAZING!!! I substituted jarred roasted red peppers for the sun dried tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly Layton Green

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2015
Absolutely delicious! I roasted plain old Roma tomatoes and used that because I didn't have any sundried. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2015
My family loved it, and it was so easy! I added dried basil to the chicken and Parmesan cheese to the whole thing right before serving. I will use more than 1/2 c. Pesto next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 515) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pesto Pasta with Chicken

A simple chicken pasta with pesto and sun-dried tomatoes.

Chicken and Bow Tie Pasta

See how to make chicken with vegetables in a creamy cheese sauce.

Pesto Chicken Florentine

Tender chicken served with penne pasta in a creamy spinach and pesto sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States