Pesto Lasagna Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2004
This recipe is okay, but I will definitely make some adjustments next time. Too much ricotta cheese (8oz would be fine) and not enough pesto. I substituted mushrooms for the spinach, which was a good choice. The directions should include putting a bit of sauce on the bottom of the pan as the bottom layer of noodles got a bit hard. Also, the amount of sauce on top is a bit much so either spread it out through the dish or just pour 1/2 the called for amount on top. Even with all that said, I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Clearview

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2003
I made this for a dinner party and everyone loved it!! I used the jar pesto sauce and alfredo sauce and no cook noodles which made it faster and easier to make. I put a layer of alfredo sauce on the bottom and the top, I also added a tsp of fresh garlic to the onion and spinach mixture which added more flavor, my husband said it was one of the best dishes I had made!!! Try it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2005
I HAD A BUNCH OF FRESH SPINACH TO USE UP, SO I TRIED THIS RECIPE. I DIDN'T HAVE ANY BASIL PESTO ON HAND, SO I USED CLASSICO SUN-DRIED TOMATO PESTO AND SUN-DRIED TOMATO ALFREDO SAUCE. I SAUTEED THE ONION WITH GARLIC, SLICED MUSHROOMS, SHREDDED CARROTS AND CHOPPED ZUCCHINI WHICH I SEASONED WITH NATURE'S SEASON SALT MIXTURE INSTEAD OF ADDING SALT TO THE CHEESE FILLING. I MIXED THE PARMESAN INTO THE CHEESE FILLING AND LEFT OUT THE NUTMEG BECAUSE I DIDN'T THINK IT WOULD GO WITH THE SUN-DRIED TOMATO SAUCE. I LAID UNCOOKED SPINACH LEAVES ON TOP OF THE VEGGIE FILLING IN EACH LAYER. I HATE COOKING LASAGNA NOODLES, SO I LAID THEM IN THE GLASS BAKING DISH, POURED BOILING WATER OVER THEM AND LET THEM SOAK WHILE I PREPARED THE VEGETABLES AND THE CHEESE FILLING. I USED A 16-OZ JAR OF ALFREDO SAUCE AND POURED ABOUT HALF OF IT INTO THE DISH BEFORE I PUT IN THE FIRST LAYER OF NOODLES, AND THEY COOKED JUST FINE IN THE SAUCE. THIS IS THE FIRST VEGGIE LASAGNA I HAVE EVER MADE AND IT TURNED OUT GREAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2006
This was loved so much by my dad that I was inspired to write my first review. I've made this dish twice now. Very yummy and decadent. Great for company. I followed the recipe with the exception of using an entire jar of Bertolli Alfredo sauce (16 oz.), and only 9 lasanga noodles (3 layers). Added a little extra sauce inbetween layers, and the rest on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2001
I made my own alfredo sauce since I don't like the sauce in the jar! This dish tastes better warmed up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STEPH

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Glencoe, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Eagle Bend, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2002
This was tasty. I used Classico pesto and alfedo sauces, which I thought tasted great and made it easy to make. The only thing I might change in the future is to add some alfredo sauce on each layer instead of only on top, to add a little more flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Curly Sue
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
Yum! Great combonation of flavors. Made "lasagna roll-ups" instead of a pan of lasagna. Easier to make lasagna for two. Nixed the onion and spinach. Baked chicken breasts in oven smeared with pesto. Chopped. Used half ricotta half cottage cheese. Layered noodle, alfredo sauce, ricotta/cottage mixture, chicken, more pesto, sprinkle cheese, black pepper, roll up, top with more alfredo sauce, mozz & parm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Curly Sue

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2002
I added some grilled chicken to this and it was incredible!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Steve

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Living In: Mercer Island, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
I used this for my sister's bridal shower along with jojolyn's Pasta Bake. Everyone loved it and many asked for the recipes. I didn't get to eat until the end of the party and I thought it was OK... but it would probably have tasted better if I'd eaten it fresh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Antioch, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2011
Excellent! I served this for six men for lunch and they loved it! I would recommend putting a thin layer of alfredo sauce on the bottom of the pan before you put your first layer of noodles in the pan. I used a 12oz jar of alfredo sauce and the freshed prepared pesto sauce Costco offers on a regular basis.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pesto Polenta Lasagna

See how to make delicious pesto and polenta lasagna.

Easy Lasagna II

This top-rated recipe is lasagna made simple.

Deep Dish Lasagna

A crowd-pleasing lasagna with layers of cheese, sausage, spinach, and sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States