Pesto Lasagna Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2010
Amazing recipe, very adaptable to different tastes! Started with the original recipe but I prefer a little meat in my lasagna so I added a pound of ground beef. Delicious but a little too greasy. Next time, I used 1 1/3 lb. ground turkey instead of beef (healthy bonus), doubled the spinach (more healthy), and cut ricotta in half based on other comments. Cook the ground turkey (or beef) with the spinach and onion and follow the rest of the recipe as is. Also, I tend to increase the pesto to 10 ounces, not mandatory but more flavorful. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
A great alternative to conventional lasagna. Everyone loved it. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2009
I do not eat meat and I was looking for a recipe for meat-less lasagna. This recipe was delicious and fairly easy to make. I substitued the fresh spinach for the frozen, and ended up coming up a little short. The only thing I would change about this recipe is the alfredo sauce. I'm sure I will make this again, but I will use a sauce with more zest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CasiK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicopee, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2009
This is a great lasagna. The first time I added mushrooms, the second time artichoke bottoms - I feel like it needs a little something for bulk. Also, I don't use all 30 oz of ricotta. Guests love it and I always hope for leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaLizGa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten, Netherlands Antilles

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2009
I had a girl's night and we decided to make this recipe a little bit healthier. We susbstituted the ricotta with low fat cottage cheese (straining the liquid first) and the alfredo with traditional red sauce. And we didn't have any nutmeg and used a sprinkle of cinnamon instead. Everyone loved it and we felt less guitly about our seconds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2009
I had to make my own pesto, which could have been a disaster, but mixed well with the spinach mixture. The jar of Alfredo was far too salty and although it's a nice shortcut, a homemade bechamel would have served better. I used 15oz of ricotta, and it turned out well, I wouldn't be shy to use the recommended 30oz. It's worth keeping to try a few different things.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mattawan, Michigan, USA
Living In: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2008
We added Italian Sausage to this recipe and my husband loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by t_jones
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2008
I didn't have lasagne so I used spaghetti noodles , it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by t_jones

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Del Mar, California, USA
Living In: Lincoln, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2008
This lasagna was really good! I added some sauted mushrooms, onions and red bell peppers to the spinach mixture to give it more flavour. It was a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2008
This ended up being by far my new favorite recipe. Of course I didn't follow the recipe the way I should. We were trying out a new pasta machine, so we had fresh pasta. we used jared Marina sauce, instead of Alfredo. Followed the cheese part to a tee. Then we made 2 different kinds one with meat and one without. The meat we used gound beef, chopped onion and minced garlic sauteed onion and garlic in olive oil added gr. beef. Drained fat, added this layed on top of spinach then topped with cheese layer. I am going to make this recipe again and again. Usually I hate when people rate the recipe low, when they didn't follow the recipe, but I hope you can follow my changes and enjoy this recipe as much as we did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pesto Polenta Lasagna

See how to make delicious pesto and polenta lasagna.

Easy Lasagna II

This top-rated recipe is lasagna made simple.

Deep Dish Lasagna

A crowd-pleasing lasagna with layers of cheese, sausage, spinach, and sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States