Pesto Grilled Cheese Sandwich Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 18, 2015
Very adaptable with cheeses. The biggest challenge is balancing the flavors... there is no exact formula but it's fun trying to find one :) I agree with another reviewer about not overdoing the pesto... either apply it to just one slice of bread, or else apply fairly thin layers to both slices. I'd also recommend going for thin (~1/4") tomato slices. Again, it's all about hitting the right balance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bill Miller

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Menomonie, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2015
What a great twist on Grilled Cheese I also added bacon and it was delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2015
The American cheese makes it! I also used extra pesto on my sandwich. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2015
It was really good. I had only Swiss and pepperjack but the 1 slice of the pepperjack put a slight bit of punch without messing with the pesto. I almost always make grilled cheese with tomato so this was just a different twist. When I make my normal gc&t sammie I use cojack and make sure i grill it slowly and with a lid on the griddle like we did in the diner I used to work in. Oddly enought gc&t is fantastic with prepared mustard. Something about mustard and sharp cheeses. I also lightly salt the crispy sandwich just to get a bit of salty taste when you bite the sandwich. Its all yummy. I could open my own grilled cheese restaurant lol Thanks for this nice twist for my future menu!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2015
I would've never thought of it - and it was sooo good! I had French bread, provolone, medium cheddar, tomatoes and pesto. Grilled cheese perfection! Thank you for posting such a great idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2015
Definitely omit the American cheese, and use half the pesto. I used fontina and DID grill it in butter! The result was a very rich and full flavored grilled cheese, Italian style!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2015
No changes...used tomato pesto sauce from Aldis. UmUmGood!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2015
Been making this recipe for years, I use cheddar and or provolone together. So yummy especially with fresh tomatoes from the garden.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2015
I actually prefer this sandwich not grilled, no butter, half the pesto (or just two or three basil leaves), some Italian mayonnaise and the rest. Somehow the grilling makes this an unattractive sandwich which turns me off before I can start to eat it. It's a good meatless summertime quick meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by elizabeth32

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: North Yarmouth, Maine, USA
Reviewed: May 15, 2015
This is similar to what I make, except I use only provolone, tomato, homemade pesto and slices of roasted red pepper(jar)! Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 173) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Inside-Out Grilled Cheese Sandwich

Discover the technique that makes the cheesiest grilled cheese sandwiches ever!

Grilled Cheese Sandwich

Just add cheese and toast till it's golden brown.

Jalapeno Popper Grilled Cheese Sandwich

See how to make grilled cheese sandwiches with a cheesy, creamy jalapeno filling.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States