Pesto Grilled Cheese Sandwich Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
With hubs out Christmas shopping it was just me at home for supper tonight. I had presents to wrap and baking to do, so I wanted something simple but delicious, something more interesting than the plain ol' grilled cheese sandwich I almost settled for. Hoping for a twist on that old standby, this recipe came up with a simple search for "grilled cheese sandwich" and what a great find it was! The ingredients seem like such a natural, yet I never would have thought to put them together in a grilled cheese sandwich. I really liked this - the flavors all come together and using good, sturdy Italian bread really helps make the sandwich. This was a quick and delicious meal with ingredients I readily have on hand. No boring grilled cheese sandwich here!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
This was delicious! I just used what I had on hand: pesto, wheat bread, sungold tomatoes, mozarella and goat cheese. I have tried it both fried and in the toaster oven (without the butter). Both are great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2010
This is an amazing sandwich! I made it using the "Pesto" recipe submitted by anderval and also didn't have any American cheese on hand, so used some shredded cheddar cheese instead. I also served this with "Rachel's Tomato Basil Soup" recipe on this site. This meal was something like I would expect to get in a fancy bistro .... I can't wait for lunch today so I can have more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2009
what a nice variation on a grilled cheese sandwich. I don't have provolone cheese so I left that out and put in some sliced chicken instead. I love adding tomato to grilled cheese so any recipe that does gets a second look by me! I had sun dried tomato pesto in the fridge, so that's what I used, and I put it on olive bread. Very nice! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
These were really good and easy to make on the George Foreman grill. Thanks for the great idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
I used what I had on hand. Wheat bread, provolone, tomatoes and fresh basil. Grilled without butter on a tabletop grill. Yummy! Next time I will try it with pesto but it was really good and healthy the way it was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lakeport, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
delicious take on the grilled cheese, nice change :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Taylor

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shellsburg, Iowa, USA
Living In: Waterloo, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
I literally just got done eating this--and let me tell you...YUM. I did everything as is, except added an extra slice of each kind of cheese. Next time I will likely omit the American cheese, as I found its flavor to be dominant...and though that was still delicious, I would like the pesto and provolone flavors to be more apparent. It was quick, easy and worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jules

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Three Rivers, Michigan, USA
Living In: Bellingham, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
Excellent. Especially if you use homemade pesto!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2010
Absolutely delicious! I used wheat bread instead of italian and but I did the rest exactly as the recipe says. I will be making these many more times!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 142) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Inside-Out Grilled Cheese Sandwich

Discover the technique that makes the cheesiest grilled cheese sandwiches ever!

Grilled Cheese Sandwich

Just add cheese and toast till it's golden brown.

Jalapeno Popper Grilled Cheese Sandwich

See how to make grilled cheese sandwiches with a cheesy, creamy jalapeno filling.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States