Pesto, Goat Cheese, and Sun-dried Tomatoes Quiche Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2008
This was very good. I made it with 1% milk and didn't miss the half and half. I put some sundried tomatoes on top of the cheese and also some on top of the egg mixture. I highly recommend using the goat cheese rather than another kind, as the goat cheese imparts a very distinct flavor that can stand up to the strong flavors of pesto and sundried tomatoes. I also recommend reducing the heat down to 375F as at 400F, the crust was very brown before the eggs were set, I had to tent the crust with foil. Good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by trooworld

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smithville, Ohio, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2008
I couldn't find sun-dried tomatoes a the grocery across the street so I just used sun-dried tomato pesto. It worked really well. The flavors really worked and it was really easy. I didn't measure out the goat cheese or the pesto. I just used what I wanted. I also added a little spinach because I like the texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Forestville, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2008
I made this for Easter brunch. It was a huge hit.I made it with milk instead of cream, low fat cheese and sun-dried tomatoes without oil that I had blanched. It was still wonderful, we never missed the extra calories. (with all the chocolate, I needed something easier on the waistline.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DOMESTICGODDESS36

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ayton, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Waterloo, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2009
Added pine nuts the first time, and it was very very good. But the next time, I eliminated the pesto as I felt 4 flavors were too much. I like the goat cheese, sun-dried tomato and pine nuts combo. Agreed about no need to measure these additions as written by another reviewer. Do what you like which is frustrating advice for a beginner. Follow the recipe and then decide which flavor you wish to push forward more or less or a balance. Trust yourself and you'll learn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Economy, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2008
I made this for a Pi-Day party and everyone LOVED it! I made a few slight changes. I didn't measure the pesto, but I made a thick layer of it on the bottom. I used a 4oz package of goat cheese crumbles. I stir fried about a cup of chopped onions and mushrooms until just soft to put in with the eggs. So it wouldn't overflow, I only used 2 eggs and 1/3 cup of half and half. Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bekkah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2008
Wow. This packed so much flavor. It was a huge hit. The goat cheese complemented the other flavors so well. I did add more pesto and more goat cheese because I used a deep-dish pie crust. The only thing I would recommend is pre-baking the crust. The bottom of the crust practically disintegrated under the weight of everything else, but the dish was still phenomenal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2009
Absolutely fantastic. Here's how I personalized it: added a diced tomato in with the egg mixture, used feta instead of goat cheese, put as much pesto as I wanted to cover the pie crust, used an awesome whole wheat pie crust, and added some fresh sliced basil from my garden sprinkled on top. YUMMERS
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2008
Decadent but worth the splurge. Very flavorful! A different quiche recipe that got rave reviews at my Mother's Day brunch. Will make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RaeMama71

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winslow, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
This was a very good mix of flavors. I used cresent rolls for the crust and sun-dried tomato pesto.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Commerce, Georgia, USA
Living In: Buford, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2009
The flavors in this quiche are excellent. What's not good to say about Pesto, cheese and sun dried tomatoes! If we were making it again I might bake the pastry blind as the pesto made the base a little soggy. Also as suggested we used 2% instead of the cream. Overall a smashing recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Goat Cheese Caprese Salad

Taste a creamy, inspired version of the classic tomato salad.

Goat Cheese and Arugula Over Penne

Fresh arugula and cherry tomatoes in a creamy, garlicky pasta sauce.

Beet Salad with Goat Cheese

This substantial, 5-star salad features a sweet and tangy balsamic dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States