Pesto Del Sol Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2004
FYI: According to Jacques Pepin on one of his TV shows, if you blanche the basil briefly it will not oxidize and therefore will retain its green color. I would imagine this would hold true for the spinach as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2001
My hubby and I thought this recipe was delicious. Its fast, easy, and much lighter than a regular pesto sauce. I forgot the olives but it was still good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2007
I thought this was a great variation on typical basil pesto. Sometimes I find the basil and pine nuts too strong. The spinach and walnuts mellowed it out and the olives were a nice addition. I only had parmesan cheese so did not use romano. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2002
Great stuff! Love the variation with the black olives and spinach. Very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allyn Purvis Schwartz

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kat228
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2006
This is a wonderful pesto. The addition of black olives added another dimension. I followed the recipe exactly except I used aged gouda cheese instead of the Romano.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2004
Easy and tasty! My family loves this pesto version.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CATLOVERGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gobles, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2009
A recipe worthy of more than five stars!! This is OUTSTANDING!! Thanks for posting this recipe; it's my new standard go-to for pesto sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2008
My husband hates olives...so I made this pesto and let him try it and he said it was the best pesto I've made, and trust me, I've made alot of pestos...and then I told him there were olives in it...the look on is face was priceless....and in the next breath he asked for more...AWESOME PESTO!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KEENIE MARIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Moorhead, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2008
i love this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tustin, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2006
Excellent! Tried this for the first time with the Pesto Tuna Salad with Sun-Dried Tomatoes recipe on this site, resulting in an unusual and very tasty dish that was a hit at our house. I used about half the cheese called for in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Potato Pesto and Feta Pizza

See how to make a pesto and potato pizza.

Chef John's Almond Arugula Pesto

See how to make pesto with peppery, full-flavored arugula instead of basil.

Pesto Sauce

A classic pesto sauce with basil, walnuts, garlic, and Parmesan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States