Pesto Del Sol Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
I halved the recipe, which amounts to about a cup or so. The only thing I omitted were the pine nuts; they are somewhat pricey and I don't particularly care for their flavour. That said, I increased the amount of walnuts to compensate. I used 1/4 cup of sliced black olives from a can and reduced the Parmesan to an equal amount as the Romano. I upped the garlic to 3 large cloves. I may have used a little more EVOO as I maybe have used a tad too much spinach. I love how the spinach mellows the basil a bit, as it can be an overpowering flavour. The sample spoonful I took tasted amazing; can't wait to see how it pairs with my pasta and pizza dinner I have planned later this week. Most likely going to be my go-to recipe for 'green' pesto!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RMSR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pointe-Claire, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2011
It's really good on bread & i'm gonna try it on pasta later, but by itself it tastes like the ingrediants should be more balanced out. So i reccomend using less cheese and less garlic, maybe more basil. Only because some of the flavors overpower the others.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eugenia

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Swampscott, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2009
A recipe worthy of more than five stars!! This is OUTSTANDING!! Thanks for posting this recipe; it's my new standard go-to for pesto sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2008
My husband hates olives...so I made this pesto and let him try it and he said it was the best pesto I've made, and trust me, I've made alot of pestos...and then I told him there were olives in it...the look on is face was priceless....and in the next breath he asked for more...AWESOME PESTO!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KEENIE MARIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Moorhead, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2008
i love this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tustin, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2007
I thought this was a great variation on typical basil pesto. Sometimes I find the basil and pine nuts too strong. The spinach and walnuts mellowed it out and the olives were a nice addition. I only had parmesan cheese so did not use romano. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2006
Excellent! Tried this for the first time with the Pesto Tuna Salad with Sun-Dried Tomatoes recipe on this site, resulting in an unusual and very tasty dish that was a hit at our house. I used about half the cheese called for in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kat228
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2006
This is a wonderful pesto. The addition of black olives added another dimension. I followed the recipe exactly except I used aged gouda cheese instead of the Romano.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2004
Maybe I didn't do this recipe right but I thought it was TERRIBLE! Mine came out a pasty whitish grey color, which was very unappetizing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2004
Easy and tasty! My family loves this pesto version.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CATLOVERGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gobles, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Potato Pesto and Feta Pizza

See how to make a pesto and potato pizza.

Chef John's Almond Arugula Pesto

See how to make pesto with peppery, full-flavored arugula instead of basil.

Spinach Basil Pesto

See how to make a simple, versatile, and healthy spinach pesto sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States