Pesto Cream Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2011
This dish was excellent! The only two small changes I made was to cut the amount of butter in half (I used unsalted), and I only used 1/4 cup Romano cheese (instead of 1-and-a-half cups) and substituted a cup of low-fat mozzarella for the remaining cheese. The rest of the recipe I followed as it was written and it was delicious! Using less butter (w/no salt) in no way compromised the flavor, so I recommend this, to keep down the calorie and sodium count. I served this with a side of Italian Kale, also found on this site. It was a wonderful meal that I will be making again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JoJo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2011
We left out the mushrooms, shrimp and tomato due to picky eaters (next time I will add them) and it was STILL really good! I liked the amount that it made as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BRANGIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bellevue, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
Great dish! I used the receipe found on this site for the basil pesto "Spinach Basil Pesto". Family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dvaughn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
I used fresh made pasta and also made my own pesto. I substituted milk for half and half to make it creamier but cut the butter in half to balance the calories a little. This was redicilously good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2011
I always make different recipes and most of the time I'm so disappointed! Not this time! This tasted like something you would order at a restaurant! So super yummy!!!! This will be added to our rotation of dishes!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2011
Well, I'm going to try again. Must have done something wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chrissy
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2011
My family loved this recipe! I wouldn't change a thing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chrissy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Salem, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2011
Great recipe. To lower the saltiness I substituted Gruyere cheese for part of the Romano cheese. Crab meat or lobster meat could be substituted for the shrimp. I suppose the fake products could also be used.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RedHotTarheel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Fishers, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2011
Well,.. where to start! Aside from WONDERFUL... I'm giving this a 5 * but with reservations. The reason for my reservation:-... even with the full version, (I halved it) I was a little worried about the amount of Pesto. That was the only ingredient I altered. I used almost half stated and am VERY glad I did. It is an incredible and wonderfully different cream sauce. Althoug we had it with steak from the grill and omited the shrimp, it actually would be better with the shrimp. As far as tomatoes are concerned, I did not have any Roma's on hand and used 1 large tomato, but I scooped out the seeds and liquids; worked perfectly. Also only had very large stuffing mushrooms, was going to use 3 but after chopping only 2, realized that was more than enuf! After making the sauce, turned everything off (had to go feed the horses) came back, cooked the pasta, reheated the sauce.... was wonderful. Could taste everything - mushrooms, garlic, cheese, tomato, (and maybe use slightly less pesto next time) - but it was .... WONDERFUL! definetely a keeper - thanks so much! (hmmm, might add basil or oregano next time....)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DRAGNLAW

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
My husband loved this but I felt it needed some spice to bump it up. Otherwise, it was fine and I would make again. Very easy and smooth sause! I sauteed chiciken breast and reserved to warm oven while onins, garlic and mushrooms simmered and then made the pasta after the sauce was well on its way. Added both slicked chicken and veggies to sauce and can't complain.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 258) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Penne with Spicy Vodka Tomato Cream Sauce

See how to make a classic vodka and tomato cream sauce with a kick.

Pesto Sauce

A classic pesto sauce with basil, walnuts, garlic, and Parmesan.

Chicken Chimichangas with Sour Cream Sauce

See how to make cheesy chicken chimichangas in a savory sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States