Pesto Cream Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2013
Delicious! I made a few minor adjustments. I halved the butter and oil and I only used 1 cup of Romano cheese. I also sautéed the mushrooms with the butter and garlic at the beginning. This came out tasting like something you get in a restaurant. It was amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elmira, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Waterloo, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2013
Love this recipe :) I followed it as written, but I halved the amounts and it made plenty for a family of four. I used chicken in place of shrimp, although I will try shrimp next time. It's EXACTLY like the new Chicken Pesto Penne I always order from Swiss Chalet, but BETTER :) Will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2013
Excellent!! No need to buy sauce at the store anymore! Added a little white wine to thin out the sauce and some fresh zucchini from the garden. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2013
I really like the cream base with the pesto sauce- gives it a nice balance! I did use 1/2 c. evaporated milk, 3/4 c. light sour cream & 1/2 c. parmesan for my cream sauce instead of the flour/butter/milk base. Chicken & fresh tomatoes is a good addition too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ericksonpad

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2013
It was great! I only removed the mushrooms.Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Moscow, Moscow (Federal City), Russia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2013
I did not care for this recipe. Bland. Greasy. Cooked out the flour to a rue but otherwise followed to a tee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2013
This is incredible. Very easy to make. I wasn't sure about adding the flour in with the milk. So, I made a roux as I normally would when thickening sauces - I added the flour to the butter, onion, garlic mixture and let it cook for about a minute and then added the milk. Has worked fine both times. The first time I made this with the pesto and it was fantastic. The second time, I didn't add the pesto (as I didn't have any) but based on the ingredients I figured it would taste more like an alfredo sauce without it. Sure enough, it did! Great both ways.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2013
I have done this without the mushrooms and it's my hubbies favorite!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Milliekatira
Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
So, so, good. I will make this again and again. I made it for guests this evening and it was a huge hit. I cut down on the butter substantially and used 1% milk and it was still very creamy. As one of my guests was vegetarian I omitted the shrimp. I also only used a couple tablespoons of pesto, and as other people suggested I sautéed the mushrooms with the onion and garlic. This one's a keeper! 5+ stars! ****Take 2**** Made this dish again tonight. Only 2 changes - cooked the garlic, mushrooms and onions down much longer. Also used the shrimp this time. Even more delicious than the firs time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2013
Wonderful recipe! We made a few changes...no mushrooms, halfed the butter and pesto (as others have suggested) and added a green onion. Other than that followed the recipe exactly and it turned out great. We will definitely be making this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 260) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Penne with Spicy Vodka Tomato Cream Sauce

See how to make a classic vodka and tomato cream sauce with a kick.

Pesto Sauce

A classic pesto sauce with basil, walnuts, garlic, and Parmesan.

Chicken Chimichangas with Sour Cream Sauce

See how to make cheesy chicken chimichangas in a savory sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States