Pesto Cream Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2011
This dish was the best pasta dish I've ever made. I made a serving size for four but cut down on these ingredients. I lightened the butter portion to about 3 tablespoons and used a half a cup of milk with 1 tablespoon of flour. I then also only used two heaping tablespoons of pesto and it wasn't overpowering just perfect and more low fat! I also sauteed the mushrooms in with the garlic and onion to cook, but remained the same timing with adding the tomatoes and shrimp. Adding the linguine to the sauce and letting it simmer for 5 minutes really helped infuse the flavor all the way through.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2011
Better than Olive Garden. I added scallops and shrimp, left out the mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
Not a huge pesto fan but this turned out wonderful and all the ingredients I already have on hand. I didn't measure the pesto, I justed added a spoonful at a time to my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2011
Delicious! Instead of the shrimp and mushrooms, I added a little fresh basil the sauce, used the tomato, and shredded some boiled chicken. Put all these in a pan layered like baked ziti, fresh mozzarella thrown in, and it's a fabulous pasta bake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
Fantastic!!! Very easy....I didn't have any veggies/shrimp to add...just poured it over some chicken and cheese ravioli. I only used 1/4 cup of butter and it was still great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
This recipe was delicious. I will use it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
The only change I made was to use chicken instead of shrimp. Delicious. I also think I'm going to try just a plain cream sauce without adding the pesto. I think that will be good too!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by It's A New Day
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
I absolutely love all the ingredients in this recipe but together, not so much. There was something off about the whole thing and it was somewhat slimey. It was edible but not something I want to make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by It's A New Day

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Purcellville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Winchester, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
Great tasting recipe! My total cook&prep time was an hour. I added approx. half a yellow bell pepper with the onion--red pepper would have been better, though, taste-wise. As done by another reviewer, I added flour into the onions and garlic, then slowly added one cup of the milk. Before addding rest of milk and other ingredients, I swapped over to a kettle rather than continue with the skillet, to make sure of sufficient room to stir. I didn't start my pasta until the last 8-10 minutes to prevent stickiness (I never rinse or oil pasta if possible). I reserved about half-cup of pasta cooking water to thin the sauce if necessary, but it wasn't necessary in this case--sauce had a perfect consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
I'm an italian girl and we make our own tomato sauce but I wanted a twist and wanted to try something different and this was probably the best sauce I ever had. Even better than anything I tried at a restaurant. My husband loved it and he doesn't like anything that involves herbs and he loved the pesto. Very Good Sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rosanna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Laval, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 258) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Penne with Spicy Vodka Tomato Cream Sauce

See how to make a classic vodka and tomato cream sauce with a kick.

Pesto Sauce

A classic pesto sauce with basil, walnuts, garlic, and Parmesan.

Chicken Chimichangas with Sour Cream Sauce

See how to make cheesy chicken chimichangas in a savory sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States