Pesto Cream Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2011
Well,.. where to start! Aside from WONDERFUL... I'm giving this a 5 * but with reservations. The reason for my reservation:-... even with the full version, (I halved it) I was a little worried about the amount of Pesto. That was the only ingredient I altered. I used almost half stated and am VERY glad I did. It is an incredible and wonderfully different cream sauce. Althoug we had it with steak from the grill and omited the shrimp, it actually would be better with the shrimp. As far as tomatoes are concerned, I did not have any Roma's on hand and used 1 large tomato, but I scooped out the seeds and liquids; worked perfectly. Also only had very large stuffing mushrooms, was going to use 3 but after chopping only 2, realized that was more than enuf! After making the sauce, turned everything off (had to go feed the horses) came back, cooked the pasta, reheated the sauce.... was wonderful. Could taste everything - mushrooms, garlic, cheese, tomato, (and maybe use slightly less pesto next time) - but it was .... WONDERFUL! definetely a keeper - thanks so much! (hmmm, might add basil or oregano next time....)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DRAGNLAW

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
My husband loved this but I felt it needed some spice to bump it up. Otherwise, it was fine and I would make again. Very easy and smooth sause! I sauteed chiciken breast and reserved to warm oven while onins, garlic and mushrooms simmered and then made the pasta after the sauce was well on its way. Added both slicked chicken and veggies to sauce and can't complain.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
I didn't have shrimp available. That said, this was incredible. Simply, utterly incredible. Can we rate it more than 5 stars?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
Loved it--and even better, hubby loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2011
My family didn't care for this one. I didn't use all the basil pesto as it seemed like an awful lot but we didn't care for the taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2011
Absolutely wonderful. I thought this might be a bit involved at first but found that so long as the pesto needed is readily available it's pretty quick. I had several jars of home made frozen pesto on hand so this was not a problem. I think this would go over great at any pot luck and get plenty of "how'd you make that" inquiries. Highly recommended!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2011
Excellent, made with my neighbor's home made pesto. Yum! Very easy and fast, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by peekers93

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Trumansburg, New York, USA
Living In: Webster, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2011
This was awesome! I actually forgot to add the butter and used 3 cups fat free milk and 3 T. Wondra flour. I added a cooked chicken breast chopped up in with the cooked shrimp because I have older boys that eat A LOT. Everyone LOVED it. The only thing I would do different is sprinkle cheese on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by michellina124

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2011
Ohm. Nom. Nom. Really good. There are times when you just need to ignore the calories. This is one of those times. (I skimped on butter- a whole stick?! but added extra cream, so likely a wash). Religion-changingly good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2011
Amazing flavor, I used fresh basil b/c I didn't have enough pesto, and fresh wild mushrooms, chantrells to enhance the mushroom flavor. This one is a winner by me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 260) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Penne with Spicy Vodka Tomato Cream Sauce

See how to make a classic vodka and tomato cream sauce with a kick.

Pesto Sauce

A classic pesto sauce with basil, walnuts, garlic, and Parmesan.

Chicken Chimichangas with Sour Cream Sauce

See how to make cheesy chicken chimichangas in a savory sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States