Pesto Cream Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
I only added 1 c milk and 1 tbsp flour and 3/4 c heavy cream. Very good. Loved the sliced garlic and tomatoes in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shawano, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
OMG, this was so delicious! I only used what I had on hand so I used half and half instead of milk and a tomato garlic pesto & added basil and used a combo of Romano, Parmesan & Mozzarella cheeses. Oh, and I used a spinach fettuccini. Next time I will add the mushrooms a little earlier and give them time to get a bit more tender before adding the cheese and last few items. My 17 yr old son said "this tastes like something you would get at Olive Garden!" It is definitely a keeper, thanks for sharing the recipe, rosiella!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gulf Breeze, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BakerBee
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
Very tasty sauce! My family raved about this one and now it is a requested supper dish. I made some adjustments as recommended by other members such as, less butter and oil, frying the mushrooms in the butter mixture (to make them crispy and delicious) and creating a roux. I also purchased an already-made pesto mixture from Sobeys (it's really good). Pine nuts are expensive and so this option is more affordable and tasted just as great. I use linguine when I make this sauce but penne would be just as good. Save some shredded romano for the end and sprinkle it on top. Voila!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BakerBee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: St. Albert, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Angela W
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2012
This is a great dish, with a few modifications. I followed other reviewer's advice and cut back on the oil (only 1T) and butter (only 2T) and I used raw shrimp. This was so good I had to take it off of the table so that I could have leftovers for lunch the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela W

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2012
10/12: I did this one today without the Mushrooms and it was great! I would also consider w/ Chicken. I think you could use much less butter although it adds great favor and texture. The mushrooms I woudl think add a nice bit of texture as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Concord, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Hopkinton, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2012
So So So good. Way too heavy on the calories but who cares with this one. This was a hit with my vegetarian sister. We did not add chicken or shrimp and it was still fabullous. I only used one stick of butter and wheat flour (thats all I have) and sliced cherry tomatoes. Used 1/4 cup of Parmesan instead of romano (again, all I had) and still to die for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
Very Yummy. Easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2012
This was soooo delicious and super fast and easy to make! I ended up using 1.5 lbs of medium sized shrimp in it, but next time I'll use 2 lbs because I love shrimp. The sauce was plentiful, and it stuck to the noodles so well. This dish was even delicious reheated! I'll definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2012
Awsome recipe. Just as good as any restaurant and very simple to make! Will definitely do again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2012
This was a delicious and easy sauce. Pesto is actually a high calorie ingredient, but as most high calorie foodstuffs go, it is also mouth-wateringly delicious. Love the simplicity of this recipe and the taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HomeChef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oakdale, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Rochester, Minnesota, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 260) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Penne with Spicy Vodka Tomato Cream Sauce

See how to make a classic vodka and tomato cream sauce with a kick.

Pesto Sauce

A classic pesto sauce with basil, walnuts, garlic, and Parmesan.

Chicken Chimichangas with Sour Cream Sauce

See how to make cheesy chicken chimichangas in a savory sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States