Pesto Cream Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
excellent recipe. I mixed the flour with the onions and garlic before adding the milk. I added Parmesan instead of Romano because that is what I had available. I also used a can of mushroom pieces and a can of diced tomatoes (drained) and a bit extra pesto. It turned out great. I'm sure with fresh veges and Romano cheese it would be great also. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mankato, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2010
Delicious! Coincidentally we ordered Shrimp with pesto cream sauce and linguini a couple of weeks later at a nice restaurant and it was good, but this one is better. It's extraordinarily creamy (which my husband loves) and flavorful. I pretty much followed the recipe, except I used more like 1/3 a cup of butter and added a little cayenne and paprika. Next time I might try to make it a little lighter by using only a cup of cheese or skim milk....we'll see, I definitely don't want to change the flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
Very good recipe! Wish it had included a recipe for how to make pesto sauce though. Also, I didn't include the shrimp or mushrooms and it still was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by runnerchick

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2010
fairly simple to make. i added the mushrooms in right after the garlic and added the tomatos in a little later. we used 1/2 romano and 1/2 asiago cheese for more flavor. sauce tasted great after i made it, but needed more salt when it hit the tortellinis.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2010
Good recipe! Not excellent, but I will make it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hanzu81

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2010
Wow, this was delicious! I substituted the mushrooms and roma tomatoes for what I had on hand - mild green olives and sun-dried tomatoes, which just turned out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2010
This recipe is wonderful! I made it tonight for dinner and had such fun. It's very delicious, although a bit too rich to eat too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by orangespd

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2010
This was pretty good, but wasn't my absolute favorite. I followed this exactly per the recipe and it was pretty good, but not fabulous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: White Lake, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2010
Fantastic!! This was absolutely delicious! I used a pesto sauce recipe from this site for the pesto ingredient in this I didn't have any shrimp or mushrooms and I forgot about the tomato so I omitted those and just used the sauce over penne pasta. My husband loves it too! I will definitely make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2010
Was kinda disappointed with this, I specifically picked this recipe because it looked like it was a cream sauce with a little basil/pesto twist. In the picture its mainly cream. I made it according to the recipe except i stopped after stirring in the pest and just put that right over pasta, instead of adding shrimp mushrooms and tomatoes. It came out like a green pesto soup. The consistency wasn't bad but it definitely was a pesto sauce. My boyfriend enjoyed it, but i chose this one so that me and his dad-who aren't HUGE pesto people-would like it too. I'm thinking about trying this again, but just adding 1/4 a cup basil pesto, or maybe even just chopped basil leaves and just add enough to give flavor but not be over powering the cream. If anyone who has made this and has had better luck, I'd love your advice. This dish sounds and looks yummy, it just didn't when I made it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Esther Michelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Palmdale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 252) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Penne with Spicy Vodka Tomato Cream Sauce

See how to make a classic vodka and tomato cream sauce with a kick.

Pesto Sauce

A classic pesto sauce with basil, walnuts, garlic, and Parmesan.

Chicken Chimichangas with Sour Cream Sauce

See how to make cheesy chicken chimichangas in a savory sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States