Pesto Cream Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2013
This was delicious, though I had to make some changes because of what I had on hand. I completely omitted the butter and instead stirred the flour (I used 3 tablespoons) into the oil after sauteing the garlic and onion in it. I used nonfat milk, prepared pesto, and shredded Italian cheese blend. I served this on whole wheat noodles. Next time I will add shrimp or chicken, but it was great with tomatoes and kalamata olives.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa Varner

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sumera
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
It was a good, easy recipe. I made quite a few variations as this sauce was a last minute thing and i didnt have all of the ingredients. i omitted the veggies (but not the onions), used some left over shredded mozzarella I had in the fridge instead of the Romano, and added some chilli powder in the sauce for a spicier kick. And I just chopped up some extra steak we had grilled for dinner the night before. Voila! Steak medallions in a light pesto garlic sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2013
Delicious! I made a few minor adjustments. I halved the butter and oil and I only used 1 cup of Romano cheese. I also sautéed the mushrooms with the butter and garlic at the beginning. This came out tasting like something you get in a restaurant. It was amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elmira, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Waterloo, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2013
Love this recipe :) I followed it as written, but I halved the amounts and it made plenty for a family of four. I used chicken in place of shrimp, although I will try shrimp next time. It's EXACTLY like the new Chicken Pesto Penne I always order from Swiss Chalet, but BETTER :) Will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2013
Excellent!! No need to buy sauce at the store anymore! Added a little white wine to thin out the sauce and some fresh zucchini from the garden. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2013
I really like the cream base with the pesto sauce- gives it a nice balance! I did use 1/2 c. evaporated milk, 3/4 c. light sour cream & 1/2 c. parmesan for my cream sauce instead of the flour/butter/milk base. Chicken & fresh tomatoes is a good addition too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ericksonpad

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2013
It was great! I only removed the mushrooms.Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Moscow, Moscow (Federal City), Russia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2013
I did not care for this recipe. Bland. Greasy. Cooked out the flour to a rue but otherwise followed to a tee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2013
This is incredible. Very easy to make. I wasn't sure about adding the flour in with the milk. So, I made a roux as I normally would when thickening sauces - I added the flour to the butter, onion, garlic mixture and let it cook for about a minute and then added the milk. Has worked fine both times. The first time I made this with the pesto and it was fantastic. The second time, I didn't add the pesto (as I didn't have any) but based on the ingredients I figured it would taste more like an alfredo sauce without it. Sure enough, it did! Great both ways.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2013
I have done this without the mushrooms and it's my hubbies favorite!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Milliekatira
Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 262) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Penne with Spicy Vodka Tomato Cream Sauce

See how to make a classic vodka and tomato cream sauce with a kick.

Pesto Sauce

A classic pesto sauce with basil, walnuts, garlic, and Parmesan.

Chicken Chimichangas with Sour Cream Sauce

See how to make cheesy chicken chimichangas in a savory sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States