Pesto Cream Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2013
Delicious! I made a few minor adjustments. I halved the butter and oil and I only used 1 cup of Romano cheese. I also sautéed the mushrooms with the butter and garlic at the beginning. This came out tasting like something you get in a restaurant. It was amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elmira, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Waterloo, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2013
Love this recipe :) I followed it as written, but I halved the amounts and it made plenty for a family of four. I used chicken in place of shrimp, although I will try shrimp next time. It's EXACTLY like the new Chicken Pesto Penne I always order from Swiss Chalet, but BETTER :) Will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2013
Excellent!! No need to buy sauce at the store anymore! Added a little white wine to thin out the sauce and some fresh zucchini from the garden. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2013
I really like the cream base with the pesto sauce- gives it a nice balance! I did use 1/2 c. evaporated milk, 3/4 c. light sour cream & 1/2 c. parmesan for my cream sauce instead of the flour/butter/milk base. Chicken & fresh tomatoes is a good addition too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ericksonpad

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2013
It was great! I only removed the mushrooms.Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Moscow, Moscow (Federal City), Russia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2013
I did not care for this recipe. Bland. Greasy. Cooked out the flour to a rue but otherwise followed to a tee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2013
This is incredible. Very easy to make. I wasn't sure about adding the flour in with the milk. So, I made a roux as I normally would when thickening sauces - I added the flour to the butter, onion, garlic mixture and let it cook for about a minute and then added the milk. Has worked fine both times. The first time I made this with the pesto and it was fantastic. The second time, I didn't add the pesto (as I didn't have any) but based on the ingredients I figured it would taste more like an alfredo sauce without it. Sure enough, it did! Great both ways.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2013
I have done this without the mushrooms and it's my hubbies favorite!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Milliekatira
Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
So, so, good. I will make this again and again. I made it for guests this evening and it was a huge hit. I cut down on the butter substantially and used 1% milk and it was still very creamy. As one of my guests was vegetarian I omitted the shrimp. I also only used a couple tablespoons of pesto, and as other people suggested I sautéed the mushrooms with the onion and garlic. This one's a keeper! 5+ stars! ****Take 2**** Made this dish again tonight. Only 2 changes - cooked the garlic, mushrooms and onions down much longer. Also used the shrimp this time. Even more delicious than the firs time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2013
Wonderful recipe! We made a few changes...no mushrooms, halfed the butter and pesto (as others have suggested) and added a green onion. Other than that followed the recipe exactly and it turned out great. We will definitely be making this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 260) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Penne with Spicy Vodka Tomato Cream Sauce

See how to make a classic vodka and tomato cream sauce with a kick.

Pesto Sauce

A classic pesto sauce with basil, walnuts, garlic, and Parmesan.

Chicken Chimichangas with Sour Cream Sauce

See how to make cheesy chicken chimichangas in a savory sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States