Pesto Cream Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2010
This was really good! I had a bunch of pesto and some tagliatelle, and so I was looking for a good pesto cream sauce recipe. This definitely fit the bill. I liked that the sauce was based on a roux rather than using heavy cream. Still, I did lighten it up a bit. I used about one quarter the amount of butter. I also used raw goats' milk rather than cows' milk because my partner can't take cows' milk. I threw in some peas that we got in our CSA box and some chopped sundried tomatoes rather than the shrimp and mushrooms. It was delicious. It is on the heavy side, so you don't need much, but it's great for a cold, early Spring meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2010
Good, but very heavy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Langley, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
very good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2010
We made just the sauce without the mushrooms and shrimp. We used it for perogies. It was really good the first night, but made me a little sick for leftovers. Had to throw the remainder of it away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2010
I didn't have milk around so I used cream and about 1/2 cup of rice milk, also I used fetta cheese instead of ramano and semi-dried tomatoes instead of romas. I loved it! Nice and creamy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2010
i did add a little more cheese and heavy cream to help thicken it up
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jasmine Scott-Cochran

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
I've been looking for a pesto cream sauce that didn't require making the pesto first - and this one is pretty good! I used Trader Joe's pesto. My modifications: no shrimp or mushrooms (personal preference) and canned diced tomatoes rather than fresh, as it was what I had on hand. The tomatoes really added to it, IMO; I could have easily used an additional can. (I also browned and chopped some chicken breast for the household carnivore). The flavor was great, but you have to be in the mood for a very heavy sauce. I think half the butter would probably suffice. I will definitely keep this recipe and play around with it. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zannster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2010
It could have been more flavorful. I added to cans of clams which made it better. Not thick enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meadow Brady

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Alma, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
I am a guy who is NOT a great cook, but this was easy and fun to make. My family and friends loved it. I did not include the tomato or mushrooms. I used pre-made pesto sauce from Trader Joe's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 265) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Penne with Spicy Vodka Tomato Cream Sauce

See how to make a classic vodka and tomato cream sauce with a kick.

Pesto Sauce

A classic pesto sauce with basil, walnuts, garlic, and Parmesan.

Chicken Chimichangas with Sour Cream Sauce

See how to make cheesy chicken chimichangas in a savory sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States