Pesto Cream Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
Very good recipe! Wish it had included a recipe for how to make pesto sauce though. Also, I didn't include the shrimp or mushrooms and it still was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by runnerchick

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2010
fairly simple to make. i added the mushrooms in right after the garlic and added the tomatos in a little later. we used 1/2 romano and 1/2 asiago cheese for more flavor. sauce tasted great after i made it, but needed more salt when it hit the tortellinis.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2010
Good recipe! Not excellent, but I will make it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hanzu81

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2010
Wow, this was delicious! I substituted the mushrooms and roma tomatoes for what I had on hand - mild green olives and sun-dried tomatoes, which just turned out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2010
This recipe is wonderful! I made it tonight for dinner and had such fun. It's very delicious, although a bit too rich to eat too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by orangespd

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2010
This was pretty good, but wasn't my absolute favorite. I followed this exactly per the recipe and it was pretty good, but not fabulous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: White Lake, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2010
Fantastic!! This was absolutely delicious! I used a pesto sauce recipe from this site for the pesto ingredient in this I didn't have any shrimp or mushrooms and I forgot about the tomato so I omitted those and just used the sauce over penne pasta. My husband loves it too! I will definitely make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2010
Was kinda disappointed with this, I specifically picked this recipe because it looked like it was a cream sauce with a little basil/pesto twist. In the picture its mainly cream. I made it according to the recipe except i stopped after stirring in the pest and just put that right over pasta, instead of adding shrimp mushrooms and tomatoes. It came out like a green pesto soup. The consistency wasn't bad but it definitely was a pesto sauce. My boyfriend enjoyed it, but i chose this one so that me and his dad-who aren't HUGE pesto people-would like it too. I'm thinking about trying this again, but just adding 1/4 a cup basil pesto, or maybe even just chopped basil leaves and just add enough to give flavor but not be over powering the cream. If anyone who has made this and has had better luck, I'd love your advice. This dish sounds and looks yummy, it just didn't when I made it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Esther Michelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Palmdale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2010
This recipe is very good AS IS,but it is VERY rich and heavy. Next time, I think I will cut back on the butter/cheese to lighten it up a little bit. I also made my own pesto sauce for this recipe, and subbed chicken sausage instead of shrimp due to a food allergy in the family. My 18 month old gobbled this right up. My husband kept calling me a gourmet chef. HAHA!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen Nevitt Borgnini

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Noblesville, Indiana, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2010
I tried to make this a little healthier by using about 3 tablespoons of margarine instead of the 1/2 c butter that the recipe calls for. I also cut down the grated cheese from 1 1/2 c to just 1/2 c. It turned out great and still tasted perfectly rich!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 260) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Penne with Spicy Vodka Tomato Cream Sauce

See how to make a classic vodka and tomato cream sauce with a kick.

Pesto Sauce

A classic pesto sauce with basil, walnuts, garlic, and Parmesan.

Chicken Chimichangas with Sour Cream Sauce

See how to make cheesy chicken chimichangas in a savory sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States