Pesto Cream Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
It's so good! My go to sauce. Extremely easy to make but somehow makes you look like a gourmet chef. Even my 15 year old son requests it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2014
YUM!!!! We keep kosher so the shrimp was out. And since people complained that the tomatoes made things too watery, I swapped them with broccoli. I cooked the pasta, then used 1 T. olive oil (no more is needed) to saute the onion, then added the mushrooms, garlic, and broccoli. In another pot, I used 1/4 cup butter (not half a cup) and flour to make a roux, added the milk and spices, let it thicken, then added in pesto and cheese. Once I had a creamy sauce (it took a little more than 4 minutes), I stirred in the veggies and poured the sauce over the pasta. It tasted like a high-end restaurant dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Jerusalem, Mehoz Yerushalayim, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2014
Husband and I loved this
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nanzpanz

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2014
I'm sure pesto fans will love it, but we decided we aren't exactly pesto people.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2014
Wow! This blew me out of the water! I didn't use shrimp or tomatoes, but I bet it would taste fantastic with them! I couldn't find plain romano cheese anywhere, so I had a three-cheese blend with some in it instead, but next time I'm hunting some down to see if it changes the taste. But all I can say is YUM! I'm definitely making this again. I did notice, however, that I had much more sauce than I did noodles. I ended up having to make more pasta to use the remaining sauce. However, this isn't enough to make me drop a star, just a note for next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mhend

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA
Living In: Logan, Utah, USA
Reviewed: May 4, 2014
I made this tonight and it was amazing! Adjustments I made. I used 1 cup of whole cream and 1 cup of milk. The texture was very smooth and creamy. Once you add the cheese I cooked 5 minutes to get from the chunky cheese phase to creamy... it came out perfect.. I made no other changes. Everybody loved this recipe which is somewhat rare!! For the Pesto sauce I used 3 cups of basil, one cup of olive oil 1 cup of pine nuts, 4 cloves of garlic and salt and pepper to taste. This was an amazing dish, a 5 for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
This was pretty good. It would actually be 3 or 3.5 stars for me, but I made some modifications so I'll bump it up to 4 to be a little more fair. First, I can't fathom how some others found their sauce too thin. Mine was like cream of mushroom soup consistency! I didn't have any extra milk so I thinned the sauce with some water that the pasta cooked in. I used only 2 big heaping spoonfuls of pesto, 1 cup seemed like overkill. The pesto taste was nice when I tasted just the sauce but after I thinned it and added the pasta, there wasn't much flavour. On the one hand, I added less pesto so my fault, but it would have been fine if I hadn't had to thin the sauce. If I were to add water again (though I'd really just try to make a thinner sauce to begin with), I'd make sure to add at least 1/2 cup of pesto (the full cup still seems like an awful lot to me). Other than that the only changes I made were to skip the shrimp (only because I only wanted to make two portions and didn't want to buy a bag of shrimp to use only a few) and I used cherry tomatoes because I had half a container of them that I had to use or lose (the roma would have been better though). And, heavy cream would make this sauce more heavenly, but obviously it's a little healthier with milk. All in all, I would make this again, with my tweaks. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alex

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kanata, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2014
The pasta is really good but i feel like the 2 tablespoons of olive were unnecessary. You should add less olive oil or use some of the butter to cook the onions, otherwise it will have too much oil since pesto also has olive oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2014
This was a great use for the leftover pesto I made. I find pesto overwhelming on its own with pasta so this was perfect. I halved the butter and used light cream instead of milk so no flour needed. I also did not have tomatoes or mushrooms but did not miss them. This really does serve eight people as it is rich. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2014
So so so yummy! I even used less than half the amount of butter and 1% milk and it was creamy and delicious. I added the flour before the milk so that may have helped. I also ddded spinach instead of shrimp. Definitely make this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 258) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Penne with Spicy Vodka Tomato Cream Sauce

See how to make a classic vodka and tomato cream sauce with a kick.

Pesto Sauce

A classic pesto sauce with basil, walnuts, garlic, and Parmesan.

Chicken Chimichangas with Sour Cream Sauce

See how to make cheesy chicken chimichangas in a savory sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States