Pesto Chicken Penne Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2012
Fantastic! Made it exactly as written and my whole family was delighted. As is often the case with pasta, the flavors "married" overnight and the leftovers rocked! I am pleading with those of you who feel compelled to give a negative rating to a recipe you've never tried to please resist the urge. If you read the ingredients and decide it is not for you because of calories, salt, fat, or whatever, why are you even reading the reviews and adding your opinion? The rest of us are not interested in your lecture, but rather the experiences of those who have actually made the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
269 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Macomb, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2012
Perfection just like it is! Make the adjustments as your family may like if you wish she never said everything was written in stone.... I like to have lots of left overs this amount works for my family, it gives us some left over for a midnight raid & perhaps to take for lunch the next day! Thanks for taking the time to share..........
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lbuckley
Home Town: Wyoming, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2012
This is a HUGE hit in my house and at parties where I've taken it. Please note, the recipe as it's written feeds an ARMY! For an average family you might want to halve it. DELICIOUS!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2012
Geez some people drive me crazy! How on earth are you going to rate this recipe when you haven't even made it??? & because of the calorie/fat content? Not at any point does this recipe say low calorie or low fat! To rate a recipe with 1 star because of what it "sounds" like completely defeats the meaning of this website. I've never commented before, but I am just amazed at some users sometimes!!! By the way...wonderful recipe!!! Will make again & again...& again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
491 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sunflower

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2012
Very tasty!! I made my own pesto and only used half of what was called for. The recipe called for what I thought a lot of chicken, I had 2 grilled chicken breast leftover from the night before and just cut into small pieces. Also I only used about half the cheese blend, just seemed like a lot for 1 box of pasta. I also diced 2 fresh tomatoes, because that's what I had on hand. It's in the oven baking right now, but have been tasting along the way and will definitely make again!!!! I can't wait for dinner!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by danih87
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2012
very flavorful and tasty! I substituted red bell pepper for the tomatoes just because of personal taste. I also used reduced fat Alfredo sauce which helped a tad with the calories. I will definitely make again but will cut down on the amount of sauce. It seemed to overwhelm the dish in my opinion. Served with a simple salad. Plenty of leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by danih87
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2012
Incredible!!! Used small jar pesto and diced italian tomatoes as others recommended. I took it to work for a luncheon and put it in a slow cooker instead of the oven. I left the topping off. It easily served 12 people. EVERYONE loved it!! Brought a little home for my family to taste...a winner again. Will definitely make often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2012
I made this tonight - it was wonderful. I did make adjustments though - didn't use spinach (b/c I didn't have any) And I did cut back on the pesto. And I halved the recipe once I read the other reviews. And it still made a 9x13 pan full.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2012
This was absolutely delicious! Yes as everyone has said it does make quiet a large meal...I have a large family of men so it was perfect..and still have leftovers for later in the week! I didn't change a single thing and it was great! I will definately be making this again!! **2 of my children (8 and 11 yrs old) loved it as well, it's a kid friendly meal as well**
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kpenz1010

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by zcat12f
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
Very delicious! I too used only half the pesto only because I saw how much a jar of it cost! Ouch...my 7&14 yr old. loved it and that's all that matters. Used my Celebrating Home Roaster Oven pan. This is a huge dish will cook better if you use something larger than a 13x9 size pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zcat12f

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Alden, New York, USA

Displaying results 131-140 (of 273) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pesto Chicken Penne Casserole

A creamy, one-pan chicken pasta with Alfredo and pesto sauces.

Pesto Chicken Florentine

Tender chicken served with penne pasta in a creamy spinach and pesto sauce.

Chicken Noodle Casserole I

See how to make a terrific weeknight casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States