Pesto Chicken Penne Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2014
As the recipe is written, the main problem I have is that it uses way too much pesto. Following the recommendation of other reviewers, I cut down on the pesto, cheese, and milk, and added chopped onion and mushrooms. I also used 2 packages of chicken tenderloins (so about 2 lbs- I don't know how that compares to 6 cups), which I cooked, seasoned, and cut up myself. With the revisions, it was delicious! Three stars for the recipe as written, but it can definitely be improved upon and tailored to your own tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2014
This is a keeper. Next time I will add more pesto (home made is the only way to go). That is more for personal taste. My husband had three servings and I had 2. It does make a lot even after I altered the recipe to feed 6 because I like left overs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lee fitzmaurice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oradell, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Brookfield, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2014
I rely on the reviews at this website so much that I decided to finally write my own. I made this tonight and found it to be a really tasty recipe. I'll definitely make it again. Other than reducing the amount of pesto per other reviews (I used 7 oz.), the biggest change I made was to use the pasta cooking water in the place of milk to make it less rich. I made my own alfredo sauce by melting a stick of butter and then stirring in 1 c cream and 1 c shredded parmesan cheese (recipe from Joy of Cooking). I started to add the crushed tomatoes and found the color the casserole was turning to be alarming, so I nixed it. In the future, I will add a can of drained petite diced tomatoes instead. All in all, a company-worthy, family-friendly recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2014
This recipe is a winner, and I plan to make it again! It is just as good without the chicken, for those vegetarians out there. I chopped the spinach and also used chopped (in the food processor) fresh tomatoes instead of canned. So many flavors! It was a huge hit at my dinner party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lady day
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2014
Very good recipe. I didn't have a lot of the ingredients and substituted peas for spinach, mostaccioli for penne,half and half for milk,freaking fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2014
Delicious! I've loved this dish since the first time I made it, using jarred alfredo. Nowadays I also make my own alfredo since I prefer that to storebought. :) Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2014
Made this recipe for dinner last night. It was a definite hit and a 'do-over'. The only thing I did was add a bit of garlic powder. I divided the batch in half and made 1/2 without the chicken for my vegetarian friend. Very very good recipe!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marion Clark

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2014
Talk about delicious, not to mention easy! I followed the recipe closely, although I used less chicken (4 cups) only because it was all I had on hand. My hungry wrestlers loved it!! This recipe has become a family staple. Its also great for team parties. Its got quantity and taste, and its much better than the proverbial bucket of chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2014
Amazing!!! This turned out great! This was very easy to make and I recieved so many compliments on the dish. I will def be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Odellia Lee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2014
My son loved it. I added alittle garlic salt and I had to use diced tomatoes because I didn't have crushed. My son said it would have taste better with allittle salt. It did make a lot more than I expected so I put some in a smaller baking dish and took it to work. Everyone loved it. I would make it again but I will try using crushed tomatoes next time and some salt or more garlic salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 334) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pesto Chicken Penne Casserole

A creamy, one-pan chicken pasta with Alfredo and pesto sauces.

Chicken Noodle Casserole I

See how to make a terrific weeknight casserole.

Pesto Chicken Florentine

Tender chicken served with penne pasta in a creamy spinach and pesto sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States