Pesto Chicken Florentine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by calizen
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2003
Excellent!!! I've made this countless times. I use Classico brand basil pesto (small jar, green) and a jar of Classico brand Garlic Alfredo sauce. Instead of just the 2 cups of spinach, I use the entire bag of baby spinach leaves and add a couple of button mushrooms, sliced thinly. I sear my boneless, skinless chicken breasts first (sprinkled with creole seasoning/cayenne pepper for spiciness), and once they are cooked through I set them aside, wrapped in tin foil, until everything else is done, then chop them into bite sized pieces and toss them in the sauce. The chicken stays very moist and tender this way. I also like to throw some diced tomato (lightly salted) on top before serving. So delicious. This is one of the best pasta dishes I've found on this site - definitely a keeper. Thanks for sharing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
601 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by calizen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2005
SO nice, with SO many variations. Hey you 3 star raters, it's you, not the recipe... Use any Alfredo sauce, dry or in a jar. Use any Pesto you like. I use home made "Lite Alfredo" sauce and home made Pesto. Add any vegetable you want, onion and mushrooms are excellent. Use any pasta on hand. Always use more garlic than called for and definately more Spinach as suggested. Prawns and/or chicken work great. Add Parmesan or other cheese if you like. Everyone loves this dish, in any form!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
344 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Casey M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Mountlake Terrace, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2006
Absolutely wonderful.....my hubby who does not like alfredo, loved it. I used sun dried tomato pesto, a whole bag of baby spinach, added onion in when I sauted the chicken, added sun dried tomatoes when I added the baby spinach and used 1 cup of four cheese alfredo sauce. Next time, I will cut back the sauce to 3/4 cup. But, I will make again and again! Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
181 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Delmar, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fruitland, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2003
This was just ok, but I think with a little tweaking it would be good. First, olive oil on medium-high heat is enough to completely blacken minced garlic-- as I found out quickly enough. Second, one should absolutely add as much spinach as one can get one's hands on-- the amount called for in the recipe, once wilted, is next to none, especially for those like me who find the spinach the most appetizing part of the recipe to begin with. And, make sure your pesto is very fresh-- mine wasn't and therefore did not add the lovely pungent flavor I was expecting. Otherwise, preparation was relatively easy and straightforward, and the number of ingredients few enough that I will try it again, hopefully with a better end result. Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
97 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2006
I don't give 5 stars unless something is incredible, and this recipe is not only incredible, but it is very easy and looks beautiful! This tastes like something you would get at an Italian restaurant. I put in about twice as much spinach as the recipe called for because I like spinach, but besides that, I followed the recipe as written. I will DEFINATELY be keeping this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Farmington, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Orem, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2002
I used a an entire 10 oz bag of spinach and it was the perfect amount. I made a packet of garlic alfredo and also made the pesto from a mix and the dish came out wonderfully. Microwaves well the second day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2007
This is a great recipe. I only used a 1.6 oz.Knorr Alfredo sauce mix and a whole package of spinach. It cut down on calories and the added spinach was great. I also used 2 chicken breast for the recipe for 4 and it was plenty of chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2007
Wow - tastes great, presents great but easy to make. As others suggested I doubled the spinach but could have easily tripled it! I used a jar of sauce and made my own pesto from the 'Easy Pesto' recipe on this site. The hard part was waiting for the noodles to cook and not dipping into the sauce. Fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by twistedsisterl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Scio, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2002
I altered this a bit by using already-cooked & shelled shrimp instead of chicken, and it was fabulous!! Even my picky 8-year old ate some and enjoyed it. A direct quote from my husband: "So are you going to make this every night now?" I used Knorr Alfredo sauce mix, which wasn't as large a package as the recipe calls for but it made plenty of sauce. I also used a full 16 ounces of pasta and it was still delicious. I'm looking forward to trying this again with chicken!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lianne

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Centreville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Concord, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2002
Great job Jamie- Kids hate spinach until now!! I used less chicken and cut the chicken into little peices. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 937) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Pesto Chicken Florentine

Tender chicken served with penne pasta in a creamy spinach and pesto sauce.

Pesto Pasta with Chicken

A simple chicken pasta with pesto and sun-dried tomatoes.

Chicken Florentine Casserole

See how to make a quick-and-easy, creamy chicken casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States