Pesto Cheesy Chicken Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2004
I tried this recipe and found that it was WONDERFULL! The only change I had to make was to bake the chicken for a slightly longer time. I had to bake for about an hour and 5 minutes which is 15 min. longer then the recipe stated. Also, in order to make this more healthy I think I could cut the amount of chease and pesto and have the same overall effect. A GREAT IDEA!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2005
Hey, that stuff was awesome! I didn't bother to roll it up. I just put about 8 oz. of slices mozzarella on top of flattened chicken breasts. It was fantastic. My only minor complaint is that it came out slightly dry, but I guess all baked chicken is like that. Next time I make it I am going to let the chicken soak in the pesto over night, and I am going to cover it in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Germantown, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2005
Mmmmm...this was great! I followed the directions; pounded the chicken, put in the pesto and cheese then rolled them. The only think I did different was that after they were rolled, I dipped them in egg and rolled them in breadcrumbs. They came out moist and delicious after about 45 mins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
362 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2005
This was very moist & tasty. I had no fat on my chicken, so I covered it w/foil and it was swimming in juices when it was done. Very easy too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2005
This was an easy and delicious recipe...one of my new favorites! Thanks for submitting it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nikki

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Quakertown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2005
This was a good, easy recipe (and my boyfriend loved it). I, too, made a breadcrumb topping. In a food processor I combined about 3 slices of whole wheat bread, 2 tablespoons of olive oil, a teaspoon of dried basil, and some salt and pepper. I brushed the rolled chicken with olive oil and patted on the breadcrumbs. I thought next time I would coat the chicken with dijion mustard (to add more flavor and cut some of the dryness from the breadcrumbs), but my boyfriend said he didn't think it needed it (I did though!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Blissfield, Michigan, USA
Living In: Dewitt, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2005
This recipe is tasty without having to add 2 tablespoons of pesto on the chicken. I only added 1 tablespoon seeing that it's already well-spread over. I used chicken thigh meat instead. With the cheese in it, it's rather difficult to roll up tighted. The cheese still oozed out during baking time but it was not wasted as I could scoop up for serving. I just have to practice rolling more often. It's a great, tasty and healthy dish for the family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2005
This was great! My teen son asked for 2nds & 3rds, then scraped the pan clean. I used Asiago cheese and after rolling up, dipped each piece in Creamy Italian dressing, then Italian bread crumbs. Next time I will make MORE! It is easy and really delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherbg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Whitefish Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2005
This was very good...but make sure you lightly season the chicken breast ..i just seasoned with some salt, pepper and garlic powder. And just a note to all: boneless chicken breast doesn't take long to cook. I baked in 375 degree preheated oven for about 15-20 minutes. That's all the time you need. Someone posted that they had to cook the meat almost an hour. I'm trying to figure how the chicken breast can still be moist after baking that long. Otherwise, this was very nice and if i don't feel like going through the hassle of rolling the chicken up...I just flattened with mallet....topped (seasoned) breast with pesto then cheese and then topped with another flattened chicken breast. Next I'll try with the jarred sundried tomato.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
119 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COZY CUISINE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Spring, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2005
Oh my gosh! Yum, yum! This was so easy and super delicious! I felt like I was eating NICE restaraunt quality food. Kudos to Chompy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 556) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Pesto Pasta with Chicken

A simple chicken pasta with pesto and sun-dried tomatoes.

Chicken Pesto Pizza

Presto, it’s pesto! Enjoy a quick-and-easy chicken pesto pizza.

Chicken Pesto Paninis

These sandwiches make a tasty, easy weeknight dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States