Peruvian Style Beer Can Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2014
Followed the recipe exactly except I used my electric smoker in stead of the grill, and WOW! So good!!! The skin has all the flavor and is delicious, and since I used the smoker the meat was tender and smokey. My husband is very picky when it comes to chicken but he loved this one. Will definitely be making this time and time again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2014
This was absolutely fantastic! I was a little concerned that it would be dried out, because our BBQ ran out of propane around the 1 hour mark of cooking and I didn't notice until about 20 minutes later, so I had to finish it in the oven. The chicken was tender and moist in spite of this. I have made beer can chicken several times in the past, but I never use the same recipe twice. Will definitely be using this recipe again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Simcoe, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2013
I tried this as a side dish during a smoked rib competion my brother and I competed at. Within 15 minutes of being on the grill all the other competors where drawn to our grill & smoker by the smell. We ended up taking 2nd place in the smoked rib competion but everyone loved the chicken and wanted the receipe. I marinated it overnight then left it in the cooler until we got to the cook off. After 2 1/2 to 3 hours on low heat on the grill the 7 1/2 lb bird. GREAT receipe! Everyone will love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2013
This is AWESOME. Will do it exactly the same each and every time!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Walsh, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2013
The recipe calls for 1/2 can of beer. That is what I would use for the marinade instead of the 2 tbsp in step 2. It does not need to be a paste. Then, leave the chicken marinating in your refrigerator for a few hours -the more the better- or overnight, turning it over at least once. Yesterday, I grilled a 4 lb. chicken at 400-425F for nearly 2 hours and it came out delicious and tender, and with a crispy skin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lawrenceville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2013
Excellent! I love Peruvian style chicken and this hit the mark. The ingredients as listed were perfect as was the lime water wash. I didn’t cook a beer can chicken, rather I direct grilled a cut up chicken on the grill after marinating the chicken as described in the recipe. DO NOT skip the lime water wash step because I think that it moistens and tenderizes the chicken. For the person that said that the marinade didn't penetrate the meat very much - pierce the meat thoroughly with one of those needle style meat tenderizers such as a 24 pin meat tenderizer tool, I have the Deni brand. I grilled it over mesquite coal of which added another dimension of flavor. Thanks ricfera for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alexandria, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Centennial, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2013
I made this tonight for my husband's Father's Day dinner. I had not tried a beer can chicken before but like the idea of the herb rub. It was outstanding and will pass this recipe on. It is definitely a keeper. The meat was moist and flavorful but this crispy skin was heavenly I did it as written and wouldn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2013
I really liked this recipe. I did not use any beer in the rub as I thought it didnt need it. This recipe is very heavy on cumin flavor so if you dont like cumin, cut back and replace it with another spice. I added garlic powder and extra paprika. Also, I dont think its necessary to refrigerate the chicken for an hour. I did the rub and let the chicken sit for 20-30 mins before putting it on the grill and it had plenty of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LOVESUBLIME

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
Flavor doesn't get into the meat enough. The skin, however, is to die for. Maybe I'll just go psycho on it next time and put a lot more holes into the chicken. Very tender meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockaway, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
awesome! whole family devoured it! I let it sit all day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beer Can Chicken

A whole, dry-rubbed chicken sits on a can of beer and grills to perfection.

Roast Sticky Chicken Rotisserie Style

This chicken is so easy to prepare, so incredibly delicious to eat.

Greek Chicken

See how to make simple Greek-inspired grilled chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States