Peruvian Style Beer Can Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2014
I made this last night for my husband. We both LOVED it. The only change I made was that I cooked in the oven. I started it at 475 degrees for 15 minutes and then finished it at 375 degrees. When done, I deglazed the pan with the beer and added beef bouillon and flour slurry to make a gravy to use with the leftovers. So beautiful and tasty! Thank you for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brighton, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
Made this last night and it came out fantastic! I did follow another person's advise and let the chicken brine for two hours and then when I did the marinade I went ahead and did it overnight. Followed the cooking directions exactly using my cast iron chicken cooker (from Emeril Lagasse's collection). Will certainly be making this again. My fiancee does not care for chicken but loved this preperation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COD3ELF

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: El Cajon, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
Having lived in Peru for many years, one of my favorite dishes was Pollo a la Brasa...finally I can make it here! I followed the recipe, but did not have beer for the paste and I think you can do with out. Since we just got our BBQ with the rotisserie attachment I used it and after 2 hours at about 350 F, it was perfectly done! A tip for those who don´t want to keep smelling the spices after you rubbed it all over the chicken- use disposable gloves! I use them often in the kitchen, specially when handling chicken. I made white steamed rice with garlic peruvian style and it was gone. My boys loved it, even the picky one. The chicken was very moist and tasty. Next time I may use a little less salt in the paste, since I brined it overnight. I willll make this again for sure, probably 3 chickens at a tiime!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Silvina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fremont, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
Husband thought it was excellent. I was expecting it to be more moist. Maybe the can opening was covered by skin or something, but the beer did not evaporate like I expected. Seasonings were great, though. Will try again, and punch more holes in top of can next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2014
Made this without rosemary as we hate rosemary and this was DELICIOUS. Brined the chicken for about 2 hours but forgot to poke holes - poked holes and let it sit for another half hour. BTW, an olive-pic that you use for martinis works really well as a hole poker! Followed the instructions for the Drunk Chicken recipe on this site in terms of skewering to keep the can in - GENIUS! Didn't have time to let it sit in the rub very long and hope to have more time next time. We have a gas grill, and needed to light the left two burners (one was a searing burner and one was a regular burner), and then put the chicken to the right as much as we could. It was the only way we could get to 350 in our grill. I heard it was better than Super Pollo (the best in the DC metro area)...hopefully with a longer bath in the rub, I will agree next time, but it was really, really good. With this small of a chicken, I was able to bring this in a resealable bag, with as much air squished out as possible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STARDUST_331

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scarsdale, New York, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Photo by traceyposner
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
Outstanding! I made this exactly as written. Wouldn't change a thing. THIS is the way beer can chicken should ALWAYS be made! From this point on, it will be in my house! Ridiculous! Update... I made this again today. I had an 8 1/2 lb roaster which wasn't a good choice for putting on the grill/beer can. I, instead did everything the recipe called for BUT I put it into a cooking bag and roasted it in the oven. I got the EXACT same results! I thought that the skin would not be crispy, but it was! Sooooo, if you don't have a grill, DEFINITELY try roasting it in the oven! Perfection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by traceyposner

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Apex, North Carolina, USA
Photo by Janet Henderson
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2014
Really good flavors and it was moist and tender. We loved it. Followed the recipe to the tee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet Henderson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Living In: Plant City, Florida, USA
Photo by mattd22556
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2014
This is our family favorite. Rich flavor, and great spice. This is better than most chicken places chicken. I do typically brine for 2+ hours, and then rub and marinate for 2+ hours. So much better that way. We have made it about 10 times now, and this last time we used Coke and it was better, way better. Try it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palatine, Illinois, USA
Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2014
Followed the recipe exactly except I used my electric smoker in stead of the grill, and WOW! So good!!! The skin has all the flavor and is delicious, and since I used the smoker the meat was tender and smokey. My husband is very picky when it comes to chicken but he loved this one. Will definitely be making this time and time again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2014
This was absolutely fantastic! I was a little concerned that it would be dried out, because our BBQ ran out of propane around the 1 hour mark of cooking and I didn't notice until about 20 minutes later, so I had to finish it in the oven. The chicken was tender and moist in spite of this. I have made beer can chicken several times in the past, but I never use the same recipe twice. Will definitely be using this recipe again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Simcoe, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Beer Can Chicken

A whole, dry-rubbed chicken sits on a can of beer and grills to perfection.

Roast Sticky Chicken Rotisserie Style

This chicken is so easy to prepare, so incredibly delicious to eat.

Greek Chicken

See how to make simple Greek-inspired grilled chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States