Peruvian Style Beer Can Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2012
this came out wonderful.. bf nearly devoured the entire bird.. had to use lemon b/c we didn't have any limes.. ty for this uber good recipe.. it really deserves more stars imo :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Arcadia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2013
I made this tonight for my husband's Father's Day dinner. I had not tried a beer can chicken before but like the idea of the herb rub. It was outstanding and will pass this recipe on. It is definitely a keeper. The meat was moist and flavorful but this crispy skin was heavenly I did it as written and wouldn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2013
Excellent! I love Peruvian style chicken and this hit the mark. The ingredients as listed were perfect as was the lime water wash. I didn’t cook a beer can chicken, rather I direct grilled a cut up chicken on the grill after marinating the chicken as described in the recipe. DO NOT skip the lime water wash step because I think that it moistens and tenderizes the chicken. For the person that said that the marinade didn't penetrate the meat very much - pierce the meat thoroughly with one of those needle style meat tenderizers such as a 24 pin meat tenderizer tool, I have the Deni brand. I grilled it over mesquite coal of which added another dimension of flavor. Thanks ricfera for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alexandria, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Centennial, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2013
The recipe calls for 1/2 can of beer. That is what I would use for the marinade instead of the 2 tbsp in step 2. It does not need to be a paste. Then, leave the chicken marinating in your refrigerator for a few hours -the more the better- or overnight, breast side down. And now I skip the lemon wash. Yesterday, I grilled a 4 lb. chicken at 400-425F for nearly 2 hours and it came out delicious and tender, and with a crispy skin. Update: I recently got a cheap rotisserie kit for my grill. Chicken comes out even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lawrenceville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Aerobiter
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2012
I tried this with the addition of hickory chips to give it an extra savory flavor. Excellent look and flavor. The skin was crispy and the meat moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aerobiter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Whitestone, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2012
We loved this recipe. It was extremely flavorful - great mix of spices. The next time I make it, I will leave it in the brine longer than 15 minutes to make it even juicier. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2012
The rub was very tasty. We smoked the chicken and it turned out wonderful. We used a sweet and spicy paprika and next time will add more to make it spicier. Very Good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mcgarvey87
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2012
Picture does this chicken no justice.... this is soooo good!!! My hubby and I LOVED it!! I soaked it in the water mixture for 2 hours + left in the fridge for 2 hours.... AMAZING. I will definitely be making this multiple times! So juicy and good... plus making it on top two beer cans on the grill is just toooo fun!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
awesome! whole family devoured it! I let it sit all day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2013
This is AWESOME. Will do it exactly the same each and every time!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Walsh, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Beer Can Chicken

A whole, dry-rubbed chicken sits on a can of beer and grills to perfection.

Roast Sticky Chicken Rotisserie Style

This chicken is so easy to prepare, so incredibly delicious to eat.

Greek Chicken

See how to make simple Greek-inspired grilled chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States