Peruvian Style Beer Can Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Aerobiter
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2012
I tried this with the addition of hickory chips to give it an extra savory flavor. Excellent look and flavor. The skin was crispy and the meat moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aerobiter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Whitestone, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mcgarvey87
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2012
Picture does this chicken no justice.... this is soooo good!!! My hubby and I LOVED it!! I soaked it in the water mixture for 2 hours + left in the fridge for 2 hours.... AMAZING. I will definitely be making this multiple times! So juicy and good... plus making it on top two beer cans on the grill is just toooo fun!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2013
The recipe calls for 1/2 can of beer. That is what I would use for the marinade instead of the 2 tbsp in step 2. It does not need to be a paste. Then, leave the chicken marinating in your refrigerator for a few hours -the more the better- or overnight, breast side down. And now I skip the lemon wash. Yesterday, I grilled a 4 lb. chicken at 400-425F for nearly 2 hours and it came out delicious and tender, and with a crispy skin. Update: I recently got a cheap rotisserie kit for my grill. Chicken comes out even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lawrenceville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2012
this came out wonderful.. bf nearly devoured the entire bird.. had to use lemon b/c we didn't have any limes.. ty for this uber good recipe.. it really deserves more stars imo :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by just_jam

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Duarte, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by traceyposner
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
Outstanding! I made this exactly as written. Wouldn't change a thing. THIS is the way beer can chicken should ALWAYS be made! From this point on, it will be in my house! Ridiculous! Update... I made this again today. I had an 8 1/2 lb roaster which wasn't a good choice for putting on the grill/beer can. I, instead did everything the recipe called for BUT I put it into a cooking bag and roasted it in the oven. I got the EXACT same results! I thought that the skin would not be crispy, but it was! Sooooo, if you don't have a grill, DEFINITELY try roasting it in the oven! Perfection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by traceyposner

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Apex, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2012
We loved this recipe. It was extremely flavorful - great mix of spices. The next time I make it, I will leave it in the brine longer than 15 minutes to make it even juicier. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mattd22556
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2014
This is our family favorite. Rich flavor, and great spice. This is better than most chicken places chicken. I do typically brine for 2+ hours, and then rub and marinate for 2+ hours. So much better that way. We have made it about 10 times now, and this last time we used Coke and it was better, way better. Try it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palatine, Illinois, USA
Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2013
Excellent! I love Peruvian style chicken and this hit the mark. The ingredients as listed were perfect as was the lime water wash. I didn’t cook a beer can chicken, rather I direct grilled a cut up chicken on the grill after marinating the chicken as described in the recipe. DO NOT skip the lime water wash step because I think that it moistens and tenderizes the chicken. For the person that said that the marinade didn't penetrate the meat very much - pierce the meat thoroughly with one of those needle style meat tenderizers such as a 24 pin meat tenderizer tool, I have the Deni brand. I grilled it over mesquite coal of which added another dimension of flavor. Thanks ricfera for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alexandria, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Centennial, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
Flavor doesn't get into the meat enough. The skin, however, is to die for. Maybe I'll just go psycho on it next time and put a lot more holes into the chicken. Very tender meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockaway, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2014
I made this last night for my husband. We both LOVED it. The only change I made was that I cooked in the oven. I started it at 475 degrees for 15 minutes and then finished it at 375 degrees. When done, I deglazed the pan with the beer and added beef bouillon and flour slurry to make a gravy to use with the leftovers. So beautiful and tasty! Thank you for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brighton, Michigan, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beer Can Chicken

A whole, dry-rubbed chicken sits on a can of beer and grills to perfection.

Roast Sticky Chicken Rotisserie Style

This chicken is so easy to prepare, so incredibly delicious to eat.

Greek Chicken

See how to make simple Greek-inspired grilled chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States