Peruvian Style Beer Can Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Aerobiter
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2012
I tried this with the addition of hickory chips to give it an extra savory flavor. Excellent look and flavor. The skin was crispy and the meat moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aerobiter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Whitestone, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mcgarvey87
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2012
Picture does this chicken no justice.... this is soooo good!!! My hubby and I LOVED it!! I soaked it in the water mixture for 2 hours + left in the fridge for 2 hours.... AMAZING. I will definitely be making this multiple times! So juicy and good... plus making it on top two beer cans on the grill is just toooo fun!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2012
this came out wonderful.. bf nearly devoured the entire bird.. had to use lemon b/c we didn't have any limes.. ty for this uber good recipe.. it really deserves more stars imo :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by just_jam

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Arcadia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2013
The recipe calls for 1/2 can of beer. That is what I would use for the marinade instead of the 2 tbsp in step 2. It does not need to be a paste. Then, leave the chicken marinating in your refrigerator for a few hours -the more the better- or overnight, breast side down. And now I skip the lemon wash. Yesterday, I grilled a 4 lb. chicken at 400-425F for nearly 2 hours and it came out delicious and tender, and with a crispy skin. Update: I recently got a cheap rotisserie kit for my grill. Chicken comes out even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lawrenceville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2012
We loved this recipe. It was extremely flavorful - great mix of spices. The next time I make it, I will leave it in the brine longer than 15 minutes to make it even juicier. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by traceyposner
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
Outstanding! I made this exactly as written. Wouldn't change a thing. THIS is the way beer can chicken should ALWAYS be made! From this point on, it will be in my house! Ridiculous! Update... I made this again today. I had an 8 1/2 lb roaster which wasn't a good choice for putting on the grill/beer can. I, instead did everything the recipe called for BUT I put it into a cooking bag and roasted it in the oven. I got the EXACT same results! I thought that the skin would not be crispy, but it was! Sooooo, if you don't have a grill, DEFINITELY try roasting it in the oven! Perfection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by traceyposner

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Apex, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2013
Excellent! I love Peruvian style chicken and this hit the mark. The ingredients as listed were perfect as was the lime water wash. I didn’t cook a beer can chicken, rather I direct grilled a cut up chicken on the grill after marinating the chicken as described in the recipe. DO NOT skip the lime water wash step because I think that it moistens and tenderizes the chicken. For the person that said that the marinade didn't penetrate the meat very much - pierce the meat thoroughly with one of those needle style meat tenderizers such as a 24 pin meat tenderizer tool, I have the Deni brand. I grilled it over mesquite coal of which added another dimension of flavor. Thanks ricfera for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alexandria, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Centennial, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
Flavor doesn't get into the meat enough. The skin, however, is to die for. Maybe I'll just go psycho on it next time and put a lot more holes into the chicken. Very tender meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockaway, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
Having lived in Peru for many years, one of my favorite dishes was Pollo a la Brasa...finally I can make it here! I followed the recipe, but did not have beer for the paste and I think you can do with out. Since we just got our BBQ with the rotisserie attachment I used it and after 2 hours at about 350 F, it was perfectly done! A tip for those who don´t want to keep smelling the spices after you rubbed it all over the chicken- use disposable gloves! I use them often in the kitchen, specially when handling chicken. I made white steamed rice with garlic peruvian style and it was gone. My boys loved it, even the picky one. The chicken was very moist and tasty. Next time I may use a little less salt in the paste, since I brined it overnight. I willll make this again for sure, probably 3 chickens at a tiime!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Silvina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fremont, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
Husband thought it was excellent. I was expecting it to be more moist. Maybe the can opening was covered by skin or something, but the beer did not evaporate like I expected. Seasonings were great, though. Will try again, and punch more holes in top of can next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Beer Can Chicken

A whole, dry-rubbed chicken sits on a can of beer and grills to perfection.

Roast Sticky Chicken Rotisserie Style

This chicken is so easy to prepare, so incredibly delicious to eat.

Greek Chicken

See how to make simple Greek-inspired grilled chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States